ebookclassics

Anna Karenina

Anna KareninaAfter reading Anna Karenina almost every day for the past 4 weeks, it occurred to me that I have failed to take notes to write a final review. I have a few tweets and Goodreads status updates, but I haven’t fully captured the things that struck me as I got deeper and deeper into the story. And since this is an epic, voluminous book those times were many. With over 80 chapters to go, at this stage I don’t particularly love or hate any particular characters (although Laska, the thinking dog should get an honourable mention).

I think Anna Karenina is an everyday woman who had a nice life, but met a hot guy and she couldn’t resist the attention and opportunity to experience crazy wild passionate love. Right now, I feel empathy for her husband Alexey Alexandrovitch. Yes, he’s a cold fish and boring, but he loves her in his own way and is completely crushed when she leaves him. Did she make the right choice? I think Tolstoy’s moral of the story is that there are no right or wrong choices in pursuing happiness. What’s most important are the consequences of your choice.

Did I just write my final review?

3 comments on “Anna Karenina

  1. Christina Joy
    January 4, 2013

    Vronsky wasn’t just a hot guy, he was a hot guy with a comb-over. Hold me back, Tolstoy.

    Oh, and thanks for mentioning Laska. I’m was terribly distraught that Levin’s best friend never made it into any of our posts, although dog and cows alike made it onto my character list.

    Like

  2. Priya
    March 17, 2014

    I think your review pretty much sums up the book, which is something; it took me two months to read it. Oh and thanks for reminding me of Laska. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 20, 2014

      I have a soft spot for anthropomorphized furry critters. Anna Karenina was a long book to read, but I seem to dive into long books without thinking it through. For instance, I signed up to read War and Peace soon (eek!). But it’s for a read-a-long and we have three months, so I don’t have to cram it in.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2012 by in Anna Karenina and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

