ebookclassics

Turn of the Century Salon – Introductions

turnofcenturysalonExcited to be joining Turn of the Century Salon, a new literary reading challenge hosted by Katherine at November’s Autumn blog. The idea is to bring bloggers together to discuss the Classic books they are reading. Each month Katherine will start a discussion and everyone can link a blog posting to participate.

Yay! Nothing I want more than to share what I’m reading with Classic book enthusiasts and hear their views. Here is my posting for January 2013 which are introductions:

What draws you to read the Classics?

My brother gave me a Kobo ereader that contains 100 pre-loaded classic books and I decided I was going to read every single one. It felt like a serendipitous moment; I didn’t choose the books, they chose me (or something like that). I have always been fascinated by how Classic books give us a glimpse into the hearts and minds of men and women from bygone eras, and reflect how the world turned at that point in history. But most of all Classic books are so darn charming and romantic. Even the serious, political ones!

What Classics have you read from the 1880s-1930s? What did you think of them?

Most of the Classic books I have read from this period are from science fiction including, Mary Shelley’s “Frankenstein”, H.G. Wells “The Time Machine” and “The Island of Dr. Moreau”, Aldous Huxley’s “Brave New World”, Yevgeny Zamyatin’s “We”, and Isaac Asimov’s “I, Robot”. Love this genre, so can’t wait to re-read some of these books or try unread Classics.

Name some books you’re looking forward to read for the salon.

Anne of Green Gables is up there because I’m a Canadian girl and have never read the book. I visited the Green Gables farmhouse in Prince Edward Island, but couldn’t convince my husband to visit any other tourist traps dedicated to Anne (boo!). I mean, what other female literary character has a theme park dedicated to her? I vowed to read the book and that was 2006. Time to make it happen!

Which authors do you hope to learn more about?

The Brontë sisters as I have read none of their books. I’m a big fan of Jane Austen and would like to discover the similarities/differences between these beloved women writers. Plus, who doesn’t love a good Georgian/Victorian romance? Woot woot!

10 comments on “Turn of the Century Salon – Introductions

  1. Cat
    January 11, 2013

    I read the Anne books when I was young and loved them. I don’t care for Science Fiction so haven’t read any of those you’ve listed – maybe it’s time I tried something new.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 11, 2013

      Thanks for your comments! I like science fiction because the theme is generally “what does it mean to be human?” and because the writer is looking toward the future, there is a sense of hope for what is to become of humans despite our flaws. You might like something from the science fiction classics that are more along the lines of adventure or fantasy if you ever try it. Maybe Jules Verne?

      Like

  2. joon*ann
    January 14, 2013

    Oh, I would love to visit Prince Edward Island like you did! I haven’t read Anne of Green Gables, either. I just might have to add that to my list this year. I love the Brontë’s, I think you will enjoy reading them. I look forward to participating with you in the salon. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 15, 2013

      PEI is beautiful, I highly recommend a visit. We should definitely compare notes on Anne of GG once we get around to reading it.

      Like

  3. Elisa
    January 15, 2013

    I’m not really a fan of sci-fi books but I love Frankenstein though.
    Maybe someday I’ll get an e-reader.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 15, 2013

      I was surprised by how much I loved Frankenstein. However, I saw the movie before I read the book and had Kenneth Branaugh in my head the whole time.

      Definitely miss the tactile pleasure of reading a physical book, but the ereader is nice and light in my purse. Not sure why it’s sometimes cheaper to buy hard copy books than the ebook version. At least the classics are free!

      Like

  4. I’ve been meaning to read HG Wells. How exciting that you’ve visited Green Gables! 🙂 PEI is so beautiful, it’s one of the places I really want to visit (3rd on my list).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2013

      PEI is really beautiful, I hope you get there some day. The Island of Dr Moreau is on my list and it will be a read. I wish there was a different HG Wells book, but I committed to reading all 100 classics on my ereader. Definitely a disadvantage to reading this way …

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  5. heidenkind
    January 30, 2013

    The science fiction novels from this time period are definitely tons of fun. Have you read anything by Edgar Rice Burroughs? I was surprised by how good A Princess of Mars was.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 30, 2013

      Thank you, I really appreciate the suggestion. I haven’t read anything by Burroughs. I googled “A Princess of Mars” and it looks right up my alley. Tarzan is on my current list, so I will probably read it first and then give this one a try!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

