ebookclassics

Now Reading – Jane Eyre

janeeyre

I doubt Jane Eyre would ever wear this dress.

Can you believe I have never read anything by the Brontë sisters? Have I been living under a rock? I guess I spent too much time at the mall during my youth … and my twenties.

I started to Google for some background information and discovered that Jane Eyre is Number 2 on the Essential Classics List by Penguin Classics. On the website, the “Sales Administration Coordinator of Hardcover Sales” (an obvious expert on these matters) says Jane Eyre is

“… really just the story of a not-so-special girl who, against all odds and circumstances, is able to find love. Jane’s conviction is so strong; she is an independent woman who, unlike most of us, follows her mind rather than her heart. But the beauty of this story is that when love comes back to her, she can trust and fully believe in its sincerity. There is no greater tale for a woman looking to find love.“

She also called the story a comparable narrative to Carrie and Big in Sex and the City. Say whuh?

As you can imagine, not the introduction I had expected on a Classic. I guess I will need to read the book to agree or disagree.

I also liked a Goodreads book review by Elizabeth where she said:

“I love this book because of the I’s: I think. I feel. I need. I love. I am. Every time I have read it in the past twenty years I am reminded of the strength one gains from knowing ones own mind.”

It’s so nice to meet you, Miss Eyre. I can’t wait to make your acquaintance.

One comment on “Now Reading – Jane Eyre

  1. joon*ann
    January 15, 2013

    Your ereader really has some unusual choices for cover images. The one for Grimm’s Fairytales made me laugh. I look forward to reading your thoughts on Jane Eyre. 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2013 by in Jane Eyre and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

