ebookclassics

Now Reading – Great Expectations

greatexpectations

What, no Gwyneth?

 
(Book 8 of 100)

There’s a party goin’ on right here … A celebration to last throughout the years …

In honour of Mr. Dickens’ 201st birthday (sorry to have missed the Big 2-0-0), I’m now reading Great Expectations and participating in Fanda’s Celebrating Dickens event for February. I always wondered why all the classic book bloggers signed up like crazy for these reading challenges and events. Now I understand why … these events are totally addictive!

Great Expectations will be my first Charles Dickens book. I’m fairly familiar with the coming-of-age story of Pip and his love for the beautiful, yet unattainable Estella. I haven’t seen any movie adaptations of the book either, not even the version starring my 90s crush x2 Ethan Hawke and Gwyneth Paltrow. This is the version Homer almost rents for Bart in The Simpsons, but kiboshes when he discovers Gwyneth has a nude scene. I guess this means instead of watching classic books made into movies, I was watching cartoons.

As for first impressions, I was confused after reading a few chapters because Pip’s naive observations have been fairly comical. Isn’t this supposed to be a melancholic-ish story? I had my tissues ready!

3 comments on “Now Reading – Great Expectations

  1. Fanda
    February 6, 2013

    Great Expectations have been my most favorite Dickens so far, hope you’ll enjoy it too! I’m now reading Little Dorrit, which is much gloomier than GE.. 😦

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 6, 2013

      Immensely enjoying Great Expectations. I was expecting a gloomy story, but I have been smiling with Pip’s imaginative narration. Little Dorrit is a cute nametitle. Too bad it’s not a cute story too.

      Like

  2. cbciucci
    February 8, 2013

    Great Expectations is my favorite Dickens so far, and one of my all-time favorite novels altogether, so I’m very happy you’re enjoying it. Melancholy and regret are very much the themes of the novel, but it doesn’t become clear until later on.
    Looking forward to reading your thoughts as you read on!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2013 by in Great Expecations and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

