ebookclassics

Anne of Green Gables Read-along – Week 2

anne readalongIn the last post, we discussed how Anne of Green Gables belongs to a long list of classic books we love about orphans. Quite often the orphan’s tale is a coming-of-age-tale, or more specifically a Bildungsroman. A what-the heck? I first thought when I encountered this term reading Great Expectations. According to Wikipedia, it is a sub-genre of the coming-of-age story “that focuses on the protagonist’s psychological and moral growth, and in which character change is thus extremely important”.

Why do we love coming-of-age stories? But more specifically, why do we love reading coming of–age-stories even as adults?

Anne of Green Gables is considered a children’s novel, but as an adult I still find it engaging. Anne’s world is magical and full of wonders she wants to share. From a mother’s perspective, I think of how I may have inadvertently squashed the imagination and creativity of my little ones in exchange for “good behaviour” and need to lighten up a bit. I think Marilla makes the same discovery as she figures out how to parent Anne.

I’m still mulling over this one, but would love to hear your thoughts.



2 comments on “Anne of Green Gables Read-along – Week 2

  1. heavenali
    April 9, 2013

    I wish I had known about this read-a-long before I chose my books for the month – if I get a chance to download and read it however I will – no promises though.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 10, 2013

      Would love to have you join us! Also happy to discuss the book even after the reading event.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

