ebookclassics

Anne of Green Gables – Week 2 – Discussion Containing “Spoilers”

anne readalong* May contain “spoilers” (nudge, wink) – click for general discussion post

At the beginning of the story, Anne tells Marilla about her desire to connect with another little girl:

“A bosom friend–an intimate friend, you know–a really kindred spirit to whom I can confide my inmost soul.”

As Anne establishes a life in Avonlea, she is always on the lookout for fellow kindred spirits. Cranky Miss Josephine Barry is a kindred spirit after Anne wins her friendship, but not Laurette Bradley whom she meets at Mrs. Allan’s tea at the Manse. I think Anne’s kindred spirits are people who recognize her gifts and love Anne for her true spirit. Yes, even Gilbert Blythe!

Why is finding kindred spirits important to Anne? How would you define a kindred spirit?

I think kindred spirits are the people in your life who by some unseen force you share a connection. You bring joy to each other whether it be a relationship years long or a 5 minute conversation with someone in the elevator. Yes, I think even strangers I meet can be kindred spirits! A moment of kindness or silliness with someone I will probably never meet again gives me hope for us crazy humans. No matter what, I am always grateful for my kindred spirits. I can think of a few right now who bless my life and keep me sane.


3 comments on “Anne of Green Gables – Week 2 – Discussion Containing “Spoilers”

  1. jackiemania
    April 10, 2013

    Before I read Anne, I used to call my kindred spirits “birds of a feather” — they were the people who understood and/or loved something that I did, felt as I did, etc. I have many birds of a feather who love Anne 🙂 (and, if you can believe it, some totally NOT birds of a feather find Anne annoying. I’ll be!).

    I think kindred spirits were so important to Anne because she was so alone and misunderstood after her parents died. She didn’t have anyone to share her sense of beauty and wonder and imagination with, and she craved it desperately.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 11, 2013

      Love it! Birds of a feather is a beautiful way of putting it. I understand how Anne can be annoying with the constant chatter. But she’s so darn cute and charming! She has completely won me over.

      I agree that Anne wants to make meaningful human connections after being lonely for so long. I am always amazed at how much she loves life and wants to share the wonders of the world with other people. She’s had a tough life, but has never given up hope. I find it inspiring the same way I found Jane Eyre inspiring.

      Like

      • jackiemania
        April 11, 2013

        I was genuinely shocked to hear that readers found Anne annoying. Perhaps because I’m more than a bit like her and could only think that I must be annoying too! lol.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

