ebookclassics

Anne of Green Gables Reading Event – Wrap-up

anne readalong* Contains spoilers

I’m so glad we live in a world where there is Anne of Green Gables. I was amazed that the story of a little orphan girl made me so happy and giddy inside. With great absorption, I followed the trials Anne faced growing up in Avonlea: overcoming bias in the small town, learning from her mistakes, proving to the community she is an intelligent, talented young woman. I laughed out loud at some of her catastrophes (mouse pudding, anyone?) and cried when Marilla realized how much she completely loved Anne. In Anne of Green Gables, there are no teen pregnancies, drug abuse or other kinds of 90210 scandal. I love me some trashy storylines, but nothing could captivate me as deeply as this simple, beautiful story.

And I’m not alone. Anne of Green Gables has been adored by girls all around the world for generations. Heck, it’s even Kate Middleton’s favourite book from childhood. What is this magical spell Anne’s story has cast upon us?

Girl power! In the footsteps of Jane Eyre and pre-dating Riot Grrls/Spice Girls/HBO Girls, Anne of Green Gables is a celebration of girlhood glory. We love Anne not only because she’s smart and independent, but also because she is so girly and emotional. She’s ready to take the world on by storm, but also obsessed with her hair and the latest fashion. She’s a fighter, but knows when to make peace. She’s no pushover and when she loves a kindred spirit, Anne loves deeply. I think Anne is a wonderful role model for young women in Britney Spears world.

I imagine some people wouldn’t pick up this book because it’s considered children’s literature. As I have mentioned in another post, not much happens in this book from an adult perspective. Anne talks a lot, hangs out with her bestie, hates Gilbert Blythe and annoys Marilla. She sits by the window and daydreams. She grows up and other than the death of Matthew Cuthbert nothing bad happens. In our day and age, it’s impossible for children Anne’s age to hold onto their innocence. To me it’s a nice change to read a book where innocence isn’t lost or destroyed. We can appreciate how sweeet and precious it is to have a childhood.

Thanks to everyone who signed up for my first read-along and who commented on my posts. I hope you enjoyed Anne of Green Gables as much as I did!

4 comments on “Anne of Green Gables Reading Event – Wrap-up

  1. Elyssa
    May 15, 2013

    I’m horribly late in my review and I didn’t have time to follow the discussions :(( But I did want to post my review and thank you for hosting the event. I loved re-reading this book!! When I get time, I will read all your posts from this read-along :).

    http://unscripted35.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/anne-of-green-gablesclassics-club-review/

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 16, 2013

      It’s great that you still love the book! The read-a-long was fun just knowing others were out there reading with me. I’m sure our paths wlll cross again for other books. Going over to your post now …

      Like

  2. Jorie
    September 3, 2013

    Ooh my dear stars — I adore Anne! !! I grew up reading the entire series, as it was gifted to me by my dear grandparents, who after finding that I wasn’t quite ready to give up Avonlea, purchased the complete film series in boxed [video] format! I am aging myself a bit here, but I quickly followed this up with “Avonlea” the tv series!! My dream has always been to travel to the PEI and visit all the lovely Anne of Green Gables areas of interest!! 🙂

    Honestly, I do not understand why everyone has that opinion about Children’s Lit!? I stumbled back into this branch of literature rather by accident, (and earlier than I expected!), and I came to appreciate it as one of my most beloved sections!! I speak about Children’s Lit quite a heap on my blog, as I am constantly finding new favourites and re-discovering old favourites as well! For an event in August, I re-read “Charlotte’s Web” and I am ILL’ing the Dakota Fanning adaptation to eclipse my experience!

    Did you read more of Anne’s adventures or did you stop at book one!? This is another for my Classics Club List because mine (unfortunately!) are in a box someplace! Oyy.

    PS: Until this weekend, I hadn’t realised how many of my favourite literary heroines started out in this world as orphans! Throw in Pippi Longstocking as a spunky independently self-sufficient teen, and it is quite impressive!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 4, 2013

      I only read the first book and would love to read the whole series, but it will have to wait for another day. PEI is incredibly beautiful, so I highly recommend a visit if you ever have the opportunity.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

