ebookclassics

The Classics Club Meme for May

ClassicsClub

Tell us about the classic book(s) you’re reading this month. You can post about what you’re looking forward to reading in May, or post thoughts-in-progress on your current read(s).

It was fun reading Anne of Green Gables in April, but I’m so happy to move on to new characters and storylines for May.

The Hound of the Baskervilles group reading event with Unputdownables. My second Sherlock Holmes book this year and I am loving it! What is most surprising is how little of Sherlock Holmes is in this story. It’s all about Watson: his thoughts, his observations, his adventures. I find Sir Arthur’s decision to give the spotlight to our pragmatic doctor very intriguing, as if he wanted to convince readers that Watson is just as important as Holmes.

Isolde, Queen of the Western Isle for the Classics Retold massive group reading event. In addition to reading a classic book from a category of your choice, we are to read additional adaptations of the original classic. I chose Tristan and Iseult and knew I wanted to read a modern interpretation of the legend (ideally, something with racy, scandalous storylines). Books Take You Places recommended Rosalind Miles, so I have ordered the first Isolde book and can’t wait to dive in. I also plan to watch the 2006 movie version of Tristan and Isolde … Oh yeah, I should probably read the actual classic at some point!

Moby Dick group reading event with Reading In Bed. Everyone told me not to read “the book about the whale”. Unfortunately, it’s one of the preloaded classic books on my Kobo and I have vowed (so help me, God) to read every single one. I heard this one was a killer (get it?) so it will help to have some good company.

I’m already pondering the 18th Century English Literature event with Délaissé for June … because I’m C-R-A-Z-Y.

5 comments on “The Classics Club Meme for May

  1. lauratfrey
    May 8, 2013

    Oo you are brave, taking on all the preloaded Kobo books!

    You are for sure crazy. I’m gonna do this meme soon, and it’s gonna be: Moby Dick. I’m reading Moby Dick. THE END. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 9, 2013

      Ha ha, short and sweet. I like it!

      Reading all of the classics on my Kobo was a fun idea, but now that I’m into it, I wonder who put together the list since I feel like there are some important writers missing. No Fitzgerald, Woolf, Steinbeck, Hemingway …

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        May 9, 2013

        I think they choose the ones where there are no copyrights anymore… not saying that correctly, but basically these are “free” books that anyone can publish without paying royalties, I think. Hence most of them are pretty old.

        Like

  2. Charlene
    May 9, 2013

    I need to plan to read some Classics this month so I can get caught up on my list! Thanks for the reminder. 🙂 Looks like you are doing a great job keeping up with the challenge though, but I’m with the majority of people about Moby Dick! I hope you have a lot of coffee or something that will keep you awake. 😀

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 9, 2013

      Ha ha, this is my wish-fulfilment post. If I write about being organized maybe it will come true! Let’s see what happens in the next few weeks. Are there any classics you are leaning towards reading?

      A little nervous about reading Moby Dick. If the rumours are true, it’s both long and boring. Just what everyone loves in a book!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

