ebookclassics

The Classics Club Spin #2 – Random Reads

ClassicsClubI really wanted to join the last spin by The Classics Club, but wasn’t sure I could handle two books at the same time. I’m currently reading along to The Hound of the Baskervilles and Moby Dick for May and June, so I have the same fear … BUT I think I’m going to go for it! Why not? Life is already crazy, why not go completely B-A-N-A-N-A-S?

I have selected 20 “random reads” from my classic book list. I call them “random reads” because they are books on my list that I have no particular knowledge or feeling about. I figure this spin is a good way to get around to reading one of them. Who knows? Maybe I will discover a gem!

  1. Book Of Nonsense – Edward Lear
  2. Confessions Of An English Opium-Eater – Thomas De Quincey
  3. English Fairy Tales – Joseph Jacobs (Coll. & Ed.)
  4. Four Arthurian Romances – Chretien de Troyes
  5. Irish Fairy Tales – James Stephens
  6. Japanese Fairy Tales – Yei Theodora Ozaki
  7. Myth, Ritual, And Religion, Vol.1 – Andrew Lang
  8. On The Duty Of Civil Disobedience – Henry David Thoreau
  9. On The Origin Of Species – Charles Darwin
  10. Siddhartha – Hermann Hesse
  11. Tales From Shakespeare – Charles And Mary Lamb
  12. The Arabian Nights Entertainments – Andrew Lang
  13. The Art Of War – Sun Tzu
  14. The Canterbury Tales And Other Poems – Geoffrey Chaucer
  15. The Communist Manifesto – Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels
  16. The Iliad – Homer
  17. The Mayor Of Casterbridge – Thomas Hardy
  18. The Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka
  19. The Prince – Nicolo Machiavelli
  20. The Princess And The Goblin – George MacDonald

Some of these book will be re-reads, but truth be told they went straight over my head when I read them the first time. Wonderful, meaty texts like Origin of the Species and The Communist Manifesto. I remember an ex-boyfriend trying to get me to read The Art of War and The Iliad. Perhaps he thought I needed a change of pace from the confessions section of my Cosmo magazine? I would be okay with reading The Metamorphosis. It’s only 3 chapters!

May the spin be with you!

14 comments on “The Classics Club Spin #2 – Random Reads

  1. Christine
    May 16, 2013

    I “tried” to participate last time, but failed miserably. Hope springs eternal, though, so I’m giving it another go! My post will go live tomorrow.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 16, 2013

      Hope springs eternal … I like that and will use it as my mantra too. We can do it! … or at least the effort will make an interesting blog post.

      Like

  2. lauratfrey
    May 16, 2013

    I’m not doing this one because of Moby Dick. You’re crazy 🙂 The only one I’ve read from this list is The Mayor of Casterbridge. It was pretty good. The rest do seem a little heavy…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 16, 2013

      Yes, it’s probably going to be a disaster. Just watch it’s going to be a 150-chapter snoozer. I figure I’ll invite the chaos and either sink or swim. And still totally committed to reading/conquering Moby Dick!

      Like

  3. readinpleasure
    May 16, 2013

    I have the Mayor of Casterbridge on my list too:-) Good luck with the spin

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 17, 2013

      I looked up the Mayor of Casterbridge … oh my, I was immediately intrigued with the plot! I think it would be a very good read. Is there anything on your list you really want to read?

      Like

  4. Roof Beam Reader
    May 16, 2013

    Lots of interesting titles on your list! Mayor of Casterbridge is one of my favorites, and I’ve always wanted to read the de Quincey and Darwin books. Siddhartha and Civil Disobedience are both fantastic. Good luck & happy reading!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 17, 2013

      I love the mystery of the spin! I almost put Don Quixote and Madame Bovary on my list too, but wanted to throw in all of the books I knew nothing about. Good luck with your reading! I’m sure this spin will be a huge success..

      Like

  5. I like the various cultural fairy tales on your list. very original. The Iliad is on my list and I need to add Siddhartha to mine. Here’s my Classics Club Spin list if you’d like to stop by.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 17, 2013

      I’m a little wary of the fairy tales because I didn’t like Aesop’s Fables or Grimm’s Fairy Tales. But I’m intrigued by Japanese fairy tales and wonder how different they might be.

      Like

  6. Brona
    May 19, 2013

    In my opinion you have some pretty tricky titles on your list – I’ve avoided most of them all my life so far – well done and good luck!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 21, 2013

      Ha ha, I think I’ve avoided most of these titles for most of my life too. Somehow I feel like this is the right time for me to be reading all these classics. I hope you’re enjoying your current book!

      Like

  7. Gracie
    May 21, 2013

    I am looking forward to your thoughts on Japanese Fairy Tales, and I have to reccomend The Princess and the Goblin…one of my favorite childhood reads!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 21, 2013

      Thank you! I have never read any Japanese Fairy Tales before, so curious to see how they are similar/different from fairy tales in popular culture. Are you excited about your spin book?

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

