ebookclassics

Moby Dick Read-A-Long – Introduction

mobydickreadalongbuttonThe Moby Dick reading event with Reading in Bed begins! For those of you not in the know, Moby Dick by Herman Melville was published in 1851 and is considered one of the Great American Novels. The story is narrated by Ishmael, a sailor seeking adventure on a whaling ship commanded by the mysterious Captain Ahab. The famous premise of the story is Captain Ahab’s raging obsession with finding and killing Moby Dick, a white sperm whale that bit off his leg. Captain Ahab’s need for revenge is so all-consuming, he threatens to take his ship’s crew to the brink of destruction.

I will admit this book was on my dread list because I expected it to be long, wordy and boring. Guess what? Moby Dick is long, wordy and boring! But it’s also an interesting historical account of whaling and 18th century sailor life in those quaint seaside towns I will never be able to afford to visit in the 20th century. It’s an adventure and as a sucker for “the quest”, it lifts this book to another level that makes me think I might just enjoy Ahab’s crazy ride. Stay tuned.

Did you conquer Moby Dick? Did you love it or could you leave it?

P.S. My brother mentioned there is a Moby Dick adaptation starring Patrick Stewart. Must watch!

moby

8 comments on “Moby Dick Read-A-Long – Introduction

  1. lauratfrey
    May 22, 2013

    I was not aware of this adaptation. And Ishmael is the kid from ET?? Lots of 80s and 90s goodness! One thing I am trying to figure out is, how do you know which whale is Moby Dick? Like, how do you chase a specific whale from years ago? Maybe I just don’t know much about whales. I haven’t even got to the part where we meet Ahab yet.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 23, 2013

      I think they’re looking for a white whale and that’s what will make Moby Dick stand out. I haven’t reached the part about Ahab either, but it sure sounds like he’s trouble with a capital A!

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        May 23, 2013

        I love all the build up. I’m 20% done and haven’t met Ahab yet! But it must be coming soon, they’re at sea now, and Ahab is in his cabin…

        Like

  2. Brie @ Eat Books
    May 31, 2013

    I had NO idea there was a movie?! And I love Patrick Stewart! I think the thought of watching this movie when we’re done the book is *just* what I need to keep me motivated to see this readalong through to the end. You know, because of the whole ‘must read the book before the movie’. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2013

      Sorry for the late reply. Agreed! I also found out there is another version with William Hurt and Ethan Hawke (love!). I don’t know about you, but find the read-the-book-first rule really hard to follow. How do you like the book?

      Like

      • greenpete58
        June 7, 2013

        The original movie was directed by John Huston and stars Richard Basehart as Ishmael and the great Gregory Peck as Ahab. It’s often featured on Turner Classic Movies (TCM). But no movie can do justice to the book, which is as much a work of philosophy as a novel.

        Like

      • Brie @ Eat Books
        June 11, 2013

        Sometimes I think that for big books like this, it would be easier had I seen the movie first! I can honestly say that I’m *enjoying* the book, but I’m far behind in the readalong! (Which is why I haven’t read/commented on any further readalong posts).

        Like

  3. ebookclassics
    June 8, 2013

    Wow, so many adaptations to watch! I really want to see them all. John Huston and Gregory Peck are amazing actors. One thing I find difficult about the book is visualizing where the action is taking place on the ship. Some things are obvious, but I have started referring to a diagram online. It would be nice to see it all unfold on the screen (and give my brain a rest, ha ha).

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

