ebookclassics

Armchair BEA 2013 – Blogger Development

armchair

Paths to Becoming a Better Blogger–Discussing Development – Tell us about things you’ve done to expand your blogging horizons, and the things you’d like to do but haven’t managed (or figured out) yet.

Ack! Blogger development has been on my brain for a few weeks now and one of the reasons I decided to participate in Armchair BEA. I don’t feel as if I have enough structure either in my posts or blogging routine, if there is such a thing. It doesn’t help to marathon Game of Thrones or The Vampire Diaries when I could be blogging and figuring this out … but I sure do love me some Salvatore brothers!

My biggest OMG moment for Armchair BEA so far was reading all of your blogger development posts because the most common comment everyone made was “I don’t know what I’m doing”. Even experienced bloggers made this confession. Thank goodness it’s not just me!

I am new to blogging and I am new to classic books. I can put on a lot of swagger, but I lack confidence in both how to approach blogging and how to write about what I’m reading. It’s a wee bit intimidating going into a community where so many of you are educated and knowledgeable about books. I’m not trying to compete with you (I adore you! Envy you!), but I need to determine what I can bring to the table being me. Right now I feel like I’m coming to the wine tasting with a jello mould. Oh, that’s what you brought? That’s so cute. Put it over there. Waaaay over there.

From reading all the great tips in your posts, I made a Top 5 list of blogger development areas I need to focus on.

Schedule – Many of you couldn’t stress enough how important it is for scheduling time to blog or work on your blog. I love the post by Girl XOXO that includs pics of her detailed Evernote calendar. I wouldn’t have thought to also add blogging and reading events. Ah-Mazing!

Connect with other bloggers – I have enjoyed chatting with some of you on Twitter or on our blogs, but I know I need to get out there more. Again, I hold back because of my lack of reading experience. I just don’t know what to say sometimes to keep the conversation going.

Own your blog – I still don’t really understand why self-hosting is better. Maybe someone could clue me in.

Let go of the popularity contest – When I first started on Twitter and blogging, I became a little obsessed with being followed and (big mistake) following back everyone. I haven’t unfollowed anyone, but I have learned who is genuinely interested in what I’m doing.

Utilize blogger resources – Another wonderful thing about the blogging community is that you want to help others grow and be better at this craft. I have received lots of great advice, article and website suggestions from you. I have to give a shout out to Mom’s Small Victories because I learned about Armchair BEA and other great blogger resources from her website (just need to use them).

If I become a better blogger or just putter along, no matter what I’m having fun and that is something all of you seem to agree is what counts on this journey. Thanks and happy blogging!

6 comments on “Armchair BEA 2013 – Blogger Development

  1. you’re awesome, thanks for the shout out and glad you joined in Armchair BEA. It’s my first time participating and it’s been a blast!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 30, 2013

      I’m loving Armchair BEA too, so happy I learned about it on your website. I was reading your comments during the Twitter party today … lurking silently in the background.

      Like

  2. Laura R
    May 30, 2013

    Your list is Blogging 101 in a nutshell. If you follow those tenets, you’ll rock! And I’m glad so many of us older bloggers still admit that we’re a bit lost. I think this wouldn’t be as interesting if I knew what I was doing all the time. 😀 Tattooed Books

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 30, 2013

      It’s good to know that we’re all feeling the same way. Armchair BEA has been very inspirational, so I really intend to try to make some improvements. Even if I just get a little more organized to start. From my list, is there anything specific I should start with in your opinion.

      Like

  3. DoingDewey
    June 1, 2013

    Thanks for summarizing the things you learned for the rest of us! I’m sure you’ll start to feel more like you know what you’re doing, but your blog already looks like you do 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2013

      Thanks so much! It’s nice to know we’re all in the same boat. I think I’ve learned a lot by visiting other bloggers and figuring out what I would like to try. I found your Monday Musings posting with blogger advice informative and I will definitely keep your tips in mind. I also learned a lot from reading blogger comments on your postings!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in Headlines.

Now reading

and …

and …

