ebookclassics

Armchair BEA 2013 – Introduction and Classics

armchairArmchair BEA 2013 is here … or came 3 days ago and I’m cheating a little bit by posting my introduction today. It’s so nice to meet you!

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

Hi, I’m C.J. from ebookclassics. I’ve been blogging for almost six months and started when I decided to read all 100 of the preloaded classic books on my Kobo ereader. I started out on Twitter, but quickly realized it was only sufficient for sharing the random minutiae I like to curate from the web about the book I’m reading. I needed a forum for sharing thoughts and my experience with each book. Blogging is perfect because it appeals to my love of writing and it’s social; I enjoy connecting with other people.

Where in the world are you blogging from? Tell a random fact or something special about your current location.

I’m blogging from Oakville, Ontario which is a beautiful town outside of Toronto. The town has more golf courses and private schools than is sanely necessary. As you can imagine, a lot of rich people live here. Random fact: I’m not one of them.

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

By day I work in marketing for a Canadian law firm. Some of the things I’ve learned for work have influenced how I blog and tweet. I’m not sure if this is good or bad.

What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?

I would like to return to Prince Edward Island which is the setting for Anne for Green Gables because it’s so beautiful and majestic. I finally read Anne of Green Gables this year and would love to see the island now through her eyes.

What is your favorite part about the book blogging community?

I love the blogging community because everyone is immediately so supportive of what you are doing. It was clear from the start that we are in this together. I’m pretty darn sure there’s a lot of hugging happening at BEA in New York.

Why, reader, do you love classics?

I love reading the classics not only because they are well written and engaging, but also because I feel they are the foundation of popular culture and I find that fascinating. At least 90% of the books on my classic list are brand new to me and I’m reading them for the very first time. Eek!

4 comments on “Armchair BEA 2013 – Introduction and Classics

  1. Suey
    May 30, 2013

    So fun about reading the classics for the first time! And I too listed PEI as my literary destination. It’s been on my list for ages it seems. Maybe some day I’ll actually get to go there. And other places in Canada! 🙂 Happy Armchair BEA!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 30, 2013

      I hope you get to visit Canada, it’s really beautiful … but maybe I’m just biased. Enjoyed following your comments during the Twitter party today. I was lurking in the background. Enjoy the rest of Armchair BEA!

      Like

  2. Jennifer
    May 30, 2013

    I love your reason for why you started blogging. I’m a big fan of the classics. I see you’re also a member of the Classics Club, hooray!

    I hope you’re enjoying the ABEA, happy reading

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 30, 2013

      Thanks for your comments. The Classics Club is awesome. I’m so happy I discovered the group when I started this classic books project. Armchair BEA is amazing, I hope you are enjoying it too.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

