ebookclassics

Sense and Sensibility – Austen in August 2013

austeninaugustrbr-buttonWhen: During the month of August, I’m so excited to be participating in the Austen in August event. Roof Beam Reader hosts this interactive annual event which includes giveaways, guest posts and other Austen fun.

Who: Jane Austen is the legendary 18th century English writer who was recently in the news for taking Charles Darwin’s place on the £10 British note. Although not popular during her lifetime, Austen’s work became accepted by academia and appreciated by the public as masterfully written literature by the 20th century. Her popularity endures to this day because she wrote funny, feel-good stories about young women who find love in a society where future happiness and well-being is dependent on marriage. Some of her beloved books include Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Persuasion, Northanger Abbey and Mansfield Park. Personally, I have only read Emma and Mansfield Park which were both highly satisfying books.

What: For Austen in August, I will be reading Sense and Sensibility as the 1995 movie adaptation written by Emma Thompson and directed by Ang Lee is one of my all-time favourite movies. The book is also Austen’s first published novel and depicts the lives and loves of two sisters whose family moves to the country after their father dies.

Why: After a couple of months wrapping my head around Moby-Dick and completely failing to read The Odyssey in July, it will be nice to read a book with a lighter tone and lots of romance (finally!). Most of my reading this year has been a tad serious.

Who: I mentioned reading the book to my besties at work and some mom friends, and now have a few mini reading groups to share the experience with me. Everyone loves Jane Austen!

Where: Check back here to read my posts and as usual, I will be on Twitter tweeting any interesting minutiae, factoids and tidbits about the book and/or Jane Austen.

What are you waiting for? Learn more and sign-up on the master post.

15 comments on “Sense and Sensibility – Austen in August 2013

  1. Mabel
    July 30, 2013

    YAY! Love this book. 🙂 It’s my favorite Austen. Funny, the two Austens you’ve read are the two I have left to read!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 30, 2013

      Emma was lovely! When I mentioned Mansfield Park to other readers, they were very down on the book, but I liked the story and characters. I hope you enjoy the books!

      Like

  2. Brona
    August 2, 2013

    I was also doing the Odyssey readalong (and got stalled half way through it!)
    Austen is my favourite author. So this one will be much easier 🙂
    Good luck (i like your what/where/when post idea too.)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 2, 2013

      Hoo boy, I really had a hard time with The Odyssey and gave up. I will try again another day (big sigh). Which Austen will you be reading? I’m enjoying Sense and Sensibility, but I find my love affair with the 1995 movie is interfering with my perspective on the book.

      Like

      • Brona
        August 3, 2013

        I started Mansfield Park last night. Enjoying it much more than I expected to so far (it’s my least favourite Austen and I’ve only ever read it once).
        S&S is a wonderful book but Emma Thompson did reinterpret the characters slightly differently for the movie. A comparison of the 2 would make an interesting post 🙂
        (same goes for Emma and the Gwyneth Paltrow movie).

        Like

  3. Riv @ Bookish Realm
    August 4, 2013

    I hope you enjoy the book! I will get to Sense and Sensibility too… eventually 🙂 But since I’m going in reverse order of popularity, it might be one of the two last ones I tackle.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 7, 2013

      Ha ha … I like your strategy for reading the books. Any plans to read books not written by Jane Austen? I’m half-way through the book and even though I’m enjoying it, I have some mixed feelings about the characters because I’m so set on how they were portrayed in the movie.

      Like

      • Riv @ Bookish Realm
        August 8, 2013

        Ah, that is why I definitely want to read books before seeing the movie(s)/miniseries. It can really alter how you feel about the book! I have no plans reading other Austen-related books this time around, but in future I definitely would like to read at least one biography, for example.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          August 9, 2013

          Now I really understand why read-the-book-first is the golden rule. It’s not only confusing, but it feels so unfair to Austen to be reading her book and thinking “that wasn’t in the movie!”. It should be the other way around.

          Like

  4. Loni
    August 7, 2013

    Sense and Sensibility is my favourite Austen (of the three I’ve read). I hope you love it as much as I do. I also love Emma Thompson as Elinor. I think the movie really captured what I love about the book.

    I’ll be reading Emma this month and a spin-off book or two.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 7, 2013

      The movie is wonderful and one of my all-time faves. I really loved Emma Thompson as Elinor and her diary/script for the movie is also a good read. I feel as if I’m being a little unfair to Austen by comparing her work to the movie, but it’s stuck in my head.

      How are you enjoying Emma?

      Like

      • Loni
        August 8, 2013

        I didn’t realize the S&S script was available to read. I’d love to take a look at it.

        I haven’t started Emma yet. I will soon. I actually started Austen in August with Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: The Graphic Novel. It was very good. I’m looking forward to Emma though. I’m a fan of Clueless and didn’t know for years that the movie was inspired by this book.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          August 9, 2013

          I love Clueless and I can’t believe it’s almost 20 years old. Since I’m almost finished S&S, I was thinking about trying another Austen book, but then I’ve always been curious about Pride and Prejudice and Zombies or Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. I think genre crossovers are very cool.

          Emma Thompson wrote the S&S script and it includes her diaries from making the movie which are very funny and touching. I highly recommend it!

          Like

  5. Jorie
    September 3, 2013

    I realise now, that I made a bit of a misstep with Austen in August — I should have posted updates as I was reading Pride and Prejudice rather than wait until I had concluded the book! Now, I am behind the eight ball all the way around! Sighs. I will duly note this for next year! 🙂 Its quite nice to see we both took part in the same reading event! You were more successful than me, as you were able to finish before September arrived! I sort of lost too many hours to recover — I am hoping to get my review up on the morrow, but each day brings a new distraction! Oy.

    I have not yet read this particular book, as my Mum gifted me a special edition hardback of the novel alongside the hardback screenplay, by which I want to read both ahead of seeing the film, for which I have also not yet had the chance to do! 🙂 I was thinking: book, screenplay, film! 🙂 One day! I can see that it will be on my Classics Club list, for sure!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 4, 2013

      I think you will really enjoy the S&S novel/screenplay when you have the opportunity to read them. How did you like Pride and Prejudice? I haven’t read it yet which surprises many people. I’m not sure if I’m subconsciously holding back on reading it. Saving the best for last?

      I like to try and write a mid-way post when I’m reading a book because I usually have ideas, assumptions and opinions that change by the time I reach the end. It’s a good way of seeing how I initially experienced the book and how things change along the way for me.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

