ebookclassics

The Classics Club Spin #3 – 2013

ClassicsClubHere we go again! Last spin, I picked a random list of the most uninteresting books on my TBR and ended up reading Japanese Fairy Tales which was okay. For this Classics Club Spin, I’m going to be a little more selective in the hopes of having a more exciting outcome. Please tell me what you think.

5 BOOKS YOU DREAD

1.  Myth, Ritual, And Religion, Vol.1 – Andrew Lang
2.  English Fairy Tales – Joseph Jacobs
3.  Irish Fairy Tales – James Stephens
4.  The Arabian Nights Entertainments – Andrew Lang
5.  The Princess And The Goblin – George MacDonald

One thing I’ve learned from my classic book journey so far is that fairy tales and I do not get along. And Myth, Ritual, And Religion, Vol.1? Doesn’t that title just make you want to sob?

5 BOOKS YOU ARE NEUTRAL

6.   Emma – Jane Austen
7.   Mansfield Park – Jane Austen
8.   The Island Of Doctor Moreau – H. G. Wells
9.   The Art Of War – Sun Tzu
10. The Origin of the Species – Charles Darwin

I’m neutral about these books because they are re-reads. Reading some more Jane Austen right now would be lovely.

5 YOU CAN’T WAIT TO READ

11.  Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
12.  Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen
13.  Persuasion – Jane Austen
14.  Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
15.  The Scarlet Letter – Nathaniel Hawthorne

I’m way overdue to read both Little Women and The Scarlet Letter. I’m also a little bit curious about Nathaniel Hawthorne because he was buddies with Herman Melville who I’m still thinking about after reading Moby-Dick. And yes, I’m cramming some more Jane Austen in here because I totally can. Ha!

5 FREE CHOICE

16.  Around The World In 80 Days – Jules Verne
17.  The Jungle Book – Rudyard Kipling
18.  The Call Of The Wild – Jack London
19.  The Lost World – Arthur Conan Doyle
20.  Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson

All of these books seem adventurous and appeal to my inner tomboy.

Hmm, it was a lot of fun compiling this list. C’mon, spin gods whaddaya say? I’m placing my bet on Lucky Number 14.

8 comments on “The Classics Club Spin #3 – 2013

  1. We Sat Down (@WeSatDown)
    August 16, 2013

    Oh interesting list – none of those books are on our classics challenge list so it’ll be good to see if you recommend your spin read or not! Enjoy.

    Like

  2. Mabel
    August 16, 2013

    Little Women!!!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 21, 2013

      Darn it! I got Arabian Nights. Little Women would have been wonderful. Are you a fan of any of the movie adaptations?

      Like

      • Mabel
        August 21, 2013

        I’ve seen them all and love them all, but my favorite is the 1994 version. 🙂 Then 1933, then 1949.

        Like

  3. lauratfrey
    August 17, 2013

    I really liked The Scarlet Letter. I also watched the silent movie on Turner Classics a while back. Good stuff.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 21, 2013

      The Scarlet Letter would have been awesome, although I always have a picture of Demi Moore trying to look prudish in my head when I think of this book.

      Like

  4. Impossible A
    August 19, 2013

    Northanger Abbey was awesome. It makes me wish that all of Austen was that laugh-out-loud funny…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 21, 2013

      I can’t wait to read more Austen, but the spin was not on my side! I probably won’t get read Northanger Abbey for awhile now …

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

