ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Welcome Post

CelebClassicsButtonWelcome to my new feature Celebrities in Classics! I have been toying with the idea of creating a blog post that marries my love of classic books and fascination with celebrities and pop culture. I love when these two worlds intersect.

Each Celebrities in Classics post will profile an actor/actress and highlight any appearances they have made in classic book adaptations. The post will also include my first encounter, favourite movie/scene, great quotes, videos and any other tidbits I think are interesting.

Everyone is invited to participate and link posts below about their favourite Celebrities in Classics. Feel free to write a post using the same categories or make-up your own. Please include the title of your post and your blog name in the β€œName” section of the link. For example, Hugh Grant (ebookclassics). I will keep the feature open until the end of the year depending on interest.

Note: If someone else has written about your favourite celebrity, don’t hesitate to write a profile with your own take on their filmography.

If you are tweeting about the feature, please use the hashtag #CelebClassics

Thank you! I look forward to reading your posts.

13 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Welcome Post

  1. lauratfrey
    August 23, 2013

    Omg you must do Ethan Hawke. And Jude Law. Man, I miss the 90s.

    Like

  2. Riv @ Bookish Realm
    August 24, 2013

    This is such a neat idea. I will not participate because I haven’t really seen that many adaptions based on classics, but it will be so nice to learn about actors/actresses that appear more regularly in those films/series.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 25, 2013

      I’d be thrilled if you read the posts and felt inspired to watch one of the adaptations. Lots of great (and so bad they’re good) adaptations out there.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Celebrities in Classics – Kate Winslet | ebookclassics

  4. Pingback: Celebrities in Classics – Robert Downey Jr. | ebookclassics

  5. Pingback: Celebrities in Classics – Jude Law | ebookclassics

  6. Pingback: Celebrities in Classics – Keira Knightley | ebookclassics

  7. Cecilia
    January 15, 2014

    Hi CJ, I found you via Carolyn’s blog. I love this idea! I do have an absolute favorite classics celebrity (Ralph Fiennes) and I’d love to write a post about him at some point in the near future. I see that you’ve closed your links/feature? At any rate, if you don’t mind I’d love to write a post on my blog, but I will properly credit your blog/post for the idea and do a link back.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 15, 2014

      Hi Cecilia, I would LOVE if you wrote a post about Ralph Fiennes! He’s an amazing actor. Crediting/linking back sounds great, but maybe I’ll reopen the linky too. I look forward to your post!

      Like

      • Cecilia
        January 16, 2014

        That sounds great! I’ll need to catch up on some of his movies or re-watch some of them, but it should be a fun post to do! Thanks again for the idea πŸ™‚

        Like

  8. Naomi
    April 8, 2015

    Ok, I finally have a suggestion for you – Maggie Smith. I was just watching the trailer for The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie at 101Books, and wondered what else she’s been in that might be considered a classic. Maybe nothing, I don’t know. But, I thought I’d mention her to you before I forgot. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 8, 2015

      Fantastic suggestion! I love her and I’m sure she’s been in a lot of classic adaptations. Thanks friend!

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

