ebookclassics

Blog Life – Blogging Routine?

writingNine months have gone by since I started this blog and I still don’t have a consistent blogging routine. Is that a bad thing? Like everyone else, I wrote down some goals during Armchair BEA waaaayy back in May about getting a calendar and scheduling my posts. It would be very cool to have everything organized nice and tight and ready to go. But right now the way I’ve been blogging looks more like this:

♦ It’s 12:00 am and I wake-up for various reasons. My family is sleeping so I decide to go downstairs and write for a couple of hours because it’s the weekend. I make myself go back to bed by 4:00 am or I will die in the morning when the kids wake-up.

♦ It’s 5:30 am and I’m drinking coffee. Suddenly, I feel inspired and start writing a post, but then have to abandon it as 6:00 am rolls around because I need to get ready for work.

♦ I’m at the office and when work — as in my job – blesses me a window of opportunity, I open Gmail and write for however long I can. I draft all my posts in email messages so I can edit them wherever I can access my Gmail account.

♦ I write/edit eating lunch at my desk, while the kids are having a bath and I’m pretending to load the dishwasher, during naptime, pretending to make coffee, before I shut down the computer …

I know … crazy with a capital C.

Life is busy. As much as I love blogging and I want attract readers to my blog, I’m just managing to squeeze it in. Sometimes I just want to fill the few hours I have to myself with something else, but then I get a little anxious I’m not blogging enough. Should bloggers be posting daily/thrice-weekly, etc. to remain interesting? Are there rules? Should I just keep winging it?

18 comments on “Blog Life – Blogging Routine?

  1. emucoleman
    August 28, 2013

    I’m about as new to the blogging world as you are, and I just recently started scheduling daily posts on a calendar. It’s great right now, but someday it might not be. I think you should do what works for you, and it’s okay to take your time to come up with the best system (at least, I hope that’s what’s best, because that’s what I’ve been doing–hah!). I don’t think you need to force yourself to post daily if you don’t actually have ideas for daily posts–actually, it drives me crazy when bloggers seem to be posting something random and stupid just so they can get a post up there.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 29, 2013

      Ha! Yes, if this is what we’re doing, it must be right .. LOL! I have to admit that I’m also bad at paying attention to calendar alerts. I think the best system for me is something that’s visual and right in front of my face. Like a potty chart.

      Like

  2. Life is busy, that’s no lie. Try not to stress about your blog. Post as often as is comfortable for you. Quality over quantity is always better, right? 😀

    I don’t really think about a schedule so I suppose I’m one of those that wings it. I always post a weekly wrap-up on Sundays and that’s the only super consistent thing I do.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 29, 2013

      Thanks! I don’t mind winging it a little too. Quality over quantity is a good thing to keep in mind. If I ever do make a schedule, I think I need to print out these helpful little tips and put them somewhere so I don’t forget.

      Like

  3. Riv @ Bookish Realm
    August 29, 2013

    I’m very laid back, when it comes to posting myself and when it comes to expectations to others’ blogs. Some months I have more than 10 posts, some months only 3-4… It’s mainly got to do with mental state and whether I’m in the “writing zone”, no busy life as an excuse. I wish I was more organised and maybe some day!
    I’ve heard of people stopping following blogs if blogger does not post often enough etc – not sure if this is true or just a myth circulating – for me, unless it’s posting a few times a year, this is not a factor at all. I follow bloggers who post almost every day as well as those who post only a few times a month.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 29, 2013

      I guess we all wish we were a little more organized whether it’s our blogs or other things in life. I’m pretty sure I read comments where people said they would stop following a blog if that blogger didn’t post on a regular basis. I realize I can only do so much, but maybe that stuck in my head a little bit.

      Like

  4. Asti (A Bookish Heart)
    August 30, 2013

    There definitely aren’t any rules! I have posted daily since I started blogging in March, but that is changing when I go back to school because there’s no way I’ll have time. I really think you just have to do what works best for you! I think my one life saver is that I’m always scheduling ahead. It helps for those weeks when I can barely get anything done. I have a “buffer”.

    I don’t know how you handle the routine you have going now! I would lose my mind! haha. The fact that you can blog at all with all the craziness I think is pretty amazing (but I would assume nerve-wrecking as well)!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 30, 2013

      It is crazy! But since having another baby, my body automatically wakes me up in the middle of the night so I figured I would just capitalize on those several hours little ones wouldn’t be demanding my attention. But those odd hours do catch up with me and some nights I’m in bed at 9 pm and sleep like a rock until the morning.

      How do you think you will manage your blog when you go back to school? (BTW, your going away party sounded amazing) Even though I don’t have a formal schedule, I usually have a few ideas in my head of what I’m going to write about next and then it’s just finding the time. Is that what you mean by a buffer?

      Like

      • Asti (A Bookish Heart)
        August 30, 2013

        Ah, that makes sense. Definitely better than just laying around for a hour struggling to get back to sleep, which is what I would probably do!

        I’m hoping I’ll find a good balance when I go back to school, but we’ll see how it goes. When I started my blog in March I was in school and worked almost full time, and managed. It’ll be a little different this time though since I’ll be in a different country.

        When talking about my “buffer” I meant writing my posts ahead of time. Like as of right now, I have my discussion posts written up through October and will be writing up my “Finds” post to be done through October as well before I leave. I try to always write up posts in advance as much as I can so I don’t have to worry about them at the last second! That way, if I ever have days where I can’t manage, it’s okay because I’m usually scheduled at least a full week in advance. Of course, not everyone goes by a schedule so it’s all slightly different!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          September 1, 2013

          You are so organized having posts written several months ahead. I think that’s amazing and I get what you mean by a buffer. Good luck in London and with the blogging.

          Like

  5. lauratfrey
    August 31, 2013

    Oh my gosh. You just described me. I am always blogging after the kids go to bed and while eating lunch at my desk. I just squeeze it in whenever I can, and I use Evernote to jot down ideas if they come to me and I’m not in a position to sit down and write.

    I don’t think you have to post a certain number of times per week, but I’ve noticed a real difference since I’ve been posting more regularly, both in terms of stats and momentum – I’m more motivated to keep reading and posting more, because it just feels good to be writing this much, you know?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 1, 2013

      You are right, it does feel good to be writing! I didn’t realize that I get caught up in the momentum of posting and commenting, and I just want to keep going. It’s so much fun to interact with other bloggers and get their feedback. I would love a day to myself just to read and blog (and comment). Evernote seems to be so popular. Are you using the app on your phone? I used to put things on the notepad on my phone, but my oldest would always delete my notes.

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        September 2, 2013

        I often think that a week off work, with kids in childcare, with no other responsibilities but to work on the blog, would be glorious. And then I kick myself for not starting to blog before having kids – think of the time I would have had!

        I use Evernote on my phone, and then I open it on the laptop while I`m writing. It`s really pretty great. I also use Workflowy sometimes, but it`s not so great to use on my phone so it`s not my primary list.

        Like

      • lauratfrey
        September 2, 2013

        Okay this is so on my list of “movies I will break my no-TV resolution for“

        Like

  6. Julie
    August 31, 2013

    I am not a blogger but I do love reading blogs…kind of a living vicariously thing! I don’t need daily posts to keep reading, but I do like some consistency with the frequency…even if its only weekly or even bi weekly that’s ok…but there should be some consistency so the readers know what to expect. If a blogger decides to blog a couple times and then nothing for a few months I tend to lose interest. But there are a few blogs I read that are only updated every couple of weeks. I know this, so I don’t check as often. You are definitely posting often enough to keep me interested!!
    As for writing, you gotta sneak it in when you can! Keep it up! I’m enjoying you blog very much!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 1, 2013

      Aw shucks, you made me blush. Thank you! This is definitely helpful feedback. I understand what you mean about consistency so that readers know what to expect. I’m on a roll right now and have lots of ideas in my head, so I could probably write 2-3 posts for the next few weeks. I would just have to get up in the middle of the night to write them! But I’ll do it because blogging is labour of love for me…

      Like

  7. Jorie
    September 3, 2013

    The best advice I can give you is to write your heart out. Write when you feel motivated to write, and write about what inspires you to relay to those who read your blog. This is my approach and its serving me quite well! Be aware of not giving in to overcommitments if you can avoid it, as I learnt that lesson the hard way (within my first month, no less!), but if you strive always to lead with your heart, and be guided by the books that populate your life with joy, than you can never go far wrong!!

    I am selecting a few weekly meme events to pepper my blog with but I am not falling into a ‘weekly’ need to post an answer or reply to those either. I want to have full flexibility with my blog, to write and be who I am as a reader and as a writer. If I write up a post and find myself smiling when I conclude it, I consider that success!! I do know what you mean about the presumption that a blog that isn’t updated thrice weekly or more is a dullish blog or a key to a blogger that might abandon their blogs,.. but I differ in that view. I think the one thing no one knows is what goes on in our personal lives — we have a lot of hours in our days and weeks, and they are filled with real life living, experiences, adventures, and stress. Unexpected things happen ALL the day. Unless your scheduled for a review specific to an author, publisher, literary agent or publicist, book tour, or other engagement that is on a specific time point of needing executed, your good to go! Those posts can be written well in advance and ‘scheduled’ to hit your blog on the day needed. One happy moment for me, is how easy it is to set this up in WP! 🙂 I love WP, I truly do! 🙂

    Again, if your happy with your reading life, with the pace of reading your naturally akin too, and with the pace you feel comfortable and manageable of your time to blog, then that becomes your baseline. You can always shift and move things around, or post more often one week or one month from another, but if you keep your baseline as an internal guide, you’ll find that your readers will support you and come back to see what is new! 🙂

    Remember: book blogging (or any blogging!) is a learning curve!

    Never be afraid to try new things, shuffle it up, move it around, play with ideas or events, experiment with themes or re-arrange your blog, add badges that reflect your personality or your bookish interests, and keep the mystery and joy alive for YOU first, and then, if your happy, your readers will be happy! Do what works for you at all times!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 4, 2013

      Thanks for the helpful suggestions! I guess bogging really is a learning curve and about finding what works best for us as individuals..

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

