ebookclassics

R.I.P. III – Introduction

RIP8main200With autumn soon to be arriving on our doorstep, it’s the perfect time to sign-up for R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril or R.I.P. III hosted by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings. Until October 31st, the R.I.P. III event invites you to read and/or watch any story that makes your heart race or gives you a chilly shiver down the spine from genres, such as mystery, horror, gothic, fantasy and suspense. There are multiple Perils of participation, so anyone can join in the fun.

For R.I.P. III, I will be participating in Peril the Second, reading two books for the event. First up, the 1897 classic horror story, Dracula, featuring the world’s most famous literary vampire. It’s my first reading of Bram Stoker’s gothic book after seeing the 1992 adaptation by Francis Ford Coppola several times. I’ve already dived into the book and love it. Jonathan Harker is absolutely adorable! He’s such a neat, clean-cut and good guy. And, like whoa, he totally looks like Keanu Reeves in my head, dude!

I will also read The Return of Sherlock Holmes picking up where I left off with The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and The Hound of the Baskervilles. I love pop culture’s new love affair with Holmes and Watson with the rise in popularity of BBC’s TV show, Sherlock, the Sherlock Holmes movies and, to a lesser extent, the TV show Elementary.

What are you reading for R.I.P. III?

9 comments on “R.I.P. III – Introduction

  1. Jorie
    September 5, 2013

    I am earmarking in my mind to remember when RIP comes around again next October, as I do believe this an an annual event!? I have enough on my plate this Autumn, but as I will be in tCC already 10 months by then, I could make sure to have selections that could cross-relate! I, too, am most encouraged by the recent attention drawn to Holmes, except that I do differ on a few points, as for me, the only film adaptations I prefer to watch (or acknowledge really!) are with Basil Rathbone as Holmes, and Benedict Cumberbach as Sherlock! Noted I referenced their respective age differences by how I referred to their characters! The tv series you mentioned I did not even bother with at all.

    As your reading the canon of Doyle at the moment, perhaps you have not yet started to read ‘after canons’, however, I can put you in the direction of authors who pay homage to Holmes and carry-on the essence of Holmes rather well: Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series and Nancy Springer’s Enola Holmes series.

    I look forward to seeing your further updates on RIP the Second!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 6, 2013

      Thanks for the suggestions. I will have to look into the series you mentioned.

      I haven’t seen any of the adaptations with Basil Rathbone, but I have heard good things. You might find this article about the best screen Sherlocks amusing.

      Like

  2. cherylmahoney
    September 6, 2013

    Oh good, I’m always happy to see someone planning on Holmes. Hound of the Baskervilles is my favorite Holmes novel, and SO perfect for this challenge!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 6, 2013

      Joining the challenge definitely gave me a good excuse to read another Holmes book. I think there are four on my list. Have you participated in RIP before?

      Like

      • cherylmahoney
        September 6, 2013

        This is my second or third year…you’d think I’d know! I’ve done Carl’s other challenges three times, but I think this is only my second RIP.

        Like

  3. Mari
    September 12, 2013

    Hi. Yay, Sherlock. I am reading Adventures right now. Am actually currently hosting the Sherlock reading challenge on my blog. You should check it out. Link up your reviews and be entered to win DVD of Sherlock!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 12, 2013

      Wow, how did I not hear about your challenge? Count me in! I tried commenting on your blog, but couldn’t publish my comments. Blogger does not like me!

      Like

  4. lakesidemusing
    September 13, 2013

    I’ll be reading Dracula for the first time, too! Hope you enjoy your RIP books 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 18, 2013

      I look forward to reading your thoughts. I took a little preview of the book and couldn’t put it down, but I’ll save it for October when autumn sets the right mood.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

