ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Robert Downey Jr.

CelebClassicsButtonWHO IS IT?  Robert Downey Jr. is an award-winning actor, recovered addict and all-round cool guy. Robert has starred in everything from comedies to dramas, musicals to television shows. Even though he’s a little cocky sometimes, I have always been interested in his work. Even when Robert went on cocaine benders and wandered around L.A. in his underwear, and even when he went to jail for five years instead of making movies. I couldn’t help cheering for his success.

WHY I LOVE THIS ACTOR:  Robert Downey Jr. always makes me smile because he is naturally full of good humour. A recent Huffington Post article talked about how pop culture sometimes under appreciates the zany, wacky sidekick in favour of the bland, nice guy. Robert Downey Jr. is that guy! The article even mentions how sometimes sidekicks do get recognized and uses Iron Man as a reference. He may not be the one to make your heart race, but you can rely on him to crack jokes and make you feel good.rdj

FIRST ENCOUNTER:  I don’t remember having a distinct first impression of Robert. I most likely first watched him in Weird Science and Less Than Zero.

FAVE CLASSIC:  Without a doubt, Robert Downey Jr. makes an exceptional Sherlock Holmes. I love his version of Sherlock because he plays the detective with classic RDJ droll. Again, it’s the wacky sidekick who has been promoted to the lead role. RDJ’s Sherlock Holmes is very physical in the movies with Robert doing a lot his own action stunts. I feel this adds a superhero dimension to the character, as if to say he’s smart but can kick some butt too.

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY

1995 – Richard III ~ Earl Rivers
2009 – Sherlock Holmes ~ Sherlock Holmes
2011 – Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows ~ Sherlock Holmes

Just a smattering of RDJ’s work. See Robert’s complete filmography on Wikipedia.

GREAT QUOTE:  “The more I look into the books, the more fantastic it becomes. Holmes is such a weirdo”.

Who are your favourite Celebrities in Classics? Link your post for this feature here.

11 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Robert Downey Jr.

  1. Ekaterina
    September 18, 2013

    Oh, I’m a fan! Although some people hate his SH movies for being too unconventional, I actually like the adaptations a lot, and mainly because of him! Just seeing his facial expressions sets me in a good mood 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 18, 2013

      I get that people are critical of the SH movies because they’re a little over the top, but I love them. I’m a big fan of Sherlock Holmes AND action movies, so it’s just my cup of tea.

      Like

      • Ekaterina
        September 19, 2013

        Same here 🙂 And all the fights don’t make him less brainy 🙂

        Like

  2. lauratfrey
    September 18, 2013

    Yessss. My favourite RDJ movie is Natural Born Killers!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 18, 2013

      OMG, I completely forgot he was in Natural Born Killers. He’s fantastic! Any opinion on his version of Sherlock Holmes?

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        September 19, 2013

        I haven’t watched it, which is a travesty because it’s sitting on my shelf, still wrapped in plastic, AND Jude Law is in it. What the hell.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          September 19, 2013

          You’re so funny. I bet you have been busy working on your big TBR pile and reading.

          Like

  3. Risa
    September 18, 2013

    When I first watched Downey’s version of Holmes I thought it was rather unconventional too…until I read a couple of SH stories after the first movie and realised that it wasn’t unbelievable at all!! What goes as passing commentary or something to add to his depth and width of his knowledge, the writers and directors have used to the fullest believable degree. After that I was able to enjoy these movies better. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 18, 2013

      It’s true you have to suspend your disbelief a little bit and just accept it as entertainment. I think then you can appreciate the elements from the book they incorporated. I liked all the wacky stuff they carried over from the books like Sherlock Holmes’ love of costumes and going undercover in disguise. So fun!

      Like

  4. Mabel
    September 19, 2013

    I love, love, love him as Charlie Chaplin. 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMzOGeH0gg8

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 19, 2013

      Yes! I completely forgot he was Charlie Chaplin. He was brilliant! Didn’t he buy Chaplin’s house or something like that?

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

