ebookclassics

Sherlock Holmes Reading Challenge

mariOne reading challenge leads to another … but I love it! I discovered the Sherlock Holmes Reading Challenge after posting comments about R.I.P. III on Mari’s blog. She commented back and invited me to participate in this wonderful challenge she is hosting that runs between now and December 31, 2013. So there’s still time to learn more and sign-up by visiting Mari Reads.

It has definitely been the Year of Sherlock Holmes for me because I have enjoyed reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Hound of the Baskervilles and watching Sherlock and the second Sherlock Holmes movie with Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law (I have a hard time digesting the storylines of Elementary, so I take it in small doses). I am currently reading The Return of Sherlock Holmes and next up will be the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes,

I think we love Sherlock Holmes because he consistently brings us justice. Not only are his methods and idiosyncrasies fascinating, but the bad guys rarely get away with the crime. When the daily news just amplifies the violence and horror in the world, it’s comforting to immerse yourself into a character that can see past lies and treachery, and do something about it. He has his faults, but we forgive him because he’s a genius. I feel as loyal to him as Watson.

Of course, the toughest problem for a Sherlock Holmes fan is picking a favourite story and a favourite actor … not so elementary.

sherlockcombo

8 comments on “Sherlock Holmes Reading Challenge

  1. DoingDewey
    September 19, 2013

    I’m tempted but I definitely do not need any more reading challenges! I’ve started using todoist so hopefully I’ll do better about scheduling in the future, but this month I really overscheduled myself. I hope you have a lot of fun with this one 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 19, 2013

      I’m probably overscheduling myself, but I thought I would just dive in all the same. I’m really going to have to check out todoist. It keeps popping up on my radar.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Blog Life – Reading Challenge Conundrum | ebookclassics

  3. Jorie
    September 21, 2013

    My personal favourites for Sherlock by motion picture adaptation are *ONLY!* Basil Rathbone + Benedict Cumberbach!! Case closed! Seriously! They inhabit Holmes at two very distinct periods of his life and bring out the best of what makes Sherlock as endearing to be around as ever!! As for reading,.. next to the original canons, my favourite ‘after canons’ are: the Mary Russell series by Laurie R. King + the Enola Holmes series by Nancy Springer!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 21, 2013

      I think I will have to finally watch something with Basil Rathbone. I keep hearing so much about him. It never occurred to me to read something related to Sherlock Holmes outside of anything by Arthur Conan Doyle. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

  4. mari
    September 21, 2013

    I am so glad you joined! Can’t wait to see what you read and check out your reviews!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 21, 2013

      Very close to finishing The Return of Sherlock Holmes, so I think I will have a review soon.

      Like

  5. Pingback: The Return of Sherlock Holmes – Book Review | ebookclassics

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

