ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Jude Law

CelebClassicsButton** Dedicated to Laura at Reading In Bed.

WHO IS IT? My adoration of the Sherlock Holmes movies wouldn’t be complete without Jude Law. He is an amazingly versatile actor who isn’t afraid of challenging roles and messing up his pretty boy looks. Jude has won awards for theatrical performances and has repeatedly been nominated for his film work. Some of my favourite Jude Law movies (so far) are Gattaca, The Talented Mr. Ripley, Enemy at the Gates, Alfie, The Holiday and, of course, Sherlock Holmes. jude

WHY I LOVE THIS ACTOR:  Let’s face it, Jude Law is a heart-achingly beautiful man and I could probably stare at him all day. Yet one movie at a time, he has proven again and again that he is a talented actor. Even now that Jude has risen to become a big movie star, he still wants his work to mean something and to have heart.

FIRST ENCOUNTER:  I first saw Jude in Gattaca which stars another favourite actor of mine, Ethan Hawke. I remember that for most of the movie he was yelling at Ethan’s character.

brosFAVE CLASSICS MOVIE:  You can’t have Sherlock Holmes without Watson and Jude Law makes a great Dr. Watson. As much as I like the Holmes-Watson relationship in the books, I enjoy seeing their friendship on the silver screen even more as interpreted by Jude and Robert Downey Jr. It’s obvious that RDJ and Jude are friends and love to work together because it comes through in the movie. I loved the behind the scenes clips from Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows of the two actors lovingly walking arm and arm between takes. It’s the truest bromance I’ve ever seen.

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY

1991 – The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes ~ Joe Barnes
1997 – Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil ~ Billy Carl Hanson
2003 – Cold Mountain ~ W.P. Inman
2009 – Sherlock Holmes ~ Dr. John Watson
2011 – Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows ~ Dr. John Watson
2012 – Anna Karenina ~ Alexei Karenin

See Jude’s complete filmography at Wikipedia.

GREAT QUOTE:  Believe me when I say it’s a good thing to grab a mug of tea and curl up with a great Sherlock Holmes book.

Who are your favourite Celebrities in Classics? Link your post for this feature here.

12 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Jude Law

  1. Mabel
    September 19, 2013

    Don’t forget Cold Mountain! (A novel by Charles Frazier.) http://youtu.be/uXGtunJ9Jqk

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2013

      You won’t believe this, but I haven’t seen either the movie or read the book! So sad.

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        September 20, 2013

        Strange, but I can’t remember if I read it. I think I might have, but not sure. BUT YOU MUST SEE IT. Just thinking about the end gives me chills 🙂

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          September 20, 2013

          I watched Mabel’s trailer above which I have never seen before and it looks really good. It’s funny how worlds collide because I was reading about this movie recently since it’s supposed to be a loose adaptation of The Odyssey. Also Charlie Hunnam is in it and he’s been on my radar lately since I’m watching Sons of Anarchy and have had many discussions with my friend who thinks he’ll be a terrible Christan Grey in the 50 Shades movie.

          Like

          • lauratfrey
            September 20, 2013

            Well, watched the trailer and then watched a clip of the end, and now I’m having a little cry. Yes I am pmsing today 🙂

            Like

            • ebookclassics
              September 20, 2013

              Oh no! You must go watch some other Jude videos right this minute. I recommend some of his Homme Dior or Vogue sunglasses commercials. That should put a smile on your face.

              Like

              • lauratfrey
                September 20, 2013

                Did you see this one? What the hell? lol

                Like

                • ebookclassics
                  September 20, 2013

                  Weird. I guess they were going something avant-garde? I much prefer the commercials where he’s frolicking around in all his boyish British charm.

                  Like

  2. lauratfrey
    September 20, 2013

    I love him. That is all. I’ve said it before, but damn them for not making Anna Karenina ten years earlier so he could have played Vronsky instead of the mean old husband. I would have died.

    You also forgot Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, which I haven’t seen, but is a great book!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2013

      Yes! Jude would have made an ah-mazing Vronsky. Definitely worth the scandal.

      How did I miss these movies? Okay, adding Cold Mountain and Midnight to Jude’s filmography. Am I missing anything else?

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        September 20, 2013

        You mention it, but not in your list at the bottom- The Talented Mr. Ripley. All the Kings Men is a book as well.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

