ebookclassics

Blog Life – Reading Challenge Conundrum

bloglifeYes, it’s true. I’m a certified reading challenge addict. I have more commitments than I can count (especially since I don’t have a schedule), yet I signed up for another challenge yesterday and put myself in a little bit of a conundrum. Please tell me if you have found yourself facing a situation like this one.

The Scenario

  1. Last week I signed up for R.I.P. VIII and chose The Return of Sherlock Holmes as one of the books for the challenge.
  2. This week I joined the Sherlock Holmes Reading Challenge and decide to read the book for this challenge instead. I’ll find another book to complete the challenge for R.I.P. VIII.
  3. I’m close to finishing the book and thinking ahead to the review. Then I remember that the book is on my TBR list for The Classics Club.
  4. I’m confused as to whether the review should only be posted to SHRC or if I can also post it for the Classics Club.

And so this is where I’m a little stuck. I feel like there’s some flexibility in the blogoverse concerning something like this, but my gut tells me to just post the review for SHRC.

Are there any rules? Or does anything go? No matter what I do I’m going to cross the book off my TBR list, but does it qualify for both SHRC and the Classics Club? What do you think?

10 comments on “Blog Life – Reading Challenge Conundrum

  1. lauratfrey
    September 20, 2013

    I would use it for all three, without hesitation! Why not?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2013

      You are awesome! This is what I need to hear. I don’t know why I feel so hesitant about what to do.

      Like

  2. Risa
    September 20, 2013

    I do this sorta thing all the time…read one book for several challenges. πŸ˜€

    Btw, I’ve noticed you said this before…I thought it was a typo, but you seem to be repeating it. RIP is in it’s 8th year. So it would be R.I.P. VIII. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2013

      Yay! I like where this is all going. Oops, I did put “III” didn’t I? And now I’m seeing it all over my blog. Thank you! Will be correcting this error shortly …

      Like

  3. Jorie
    September 21, 2013

    First, you need to join me in the Reading Challenge Addicts badge of honour group!! Its in my sidebar, just click over and grab the badge after you join up! πŸ™‚ Next, I was curious about this very thing myself when I learnt from another bookish blogger that if you have multiple cross-overs for reading challenges IT IS OKAY! The book in question will simply apply to each challenge that you signed up to participate in! I wouldn’t apologise — if anything, it proves just how dedicated you are to reading this book! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Cheers!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 21, 2013

      I never really thought about it until now, but I’m so glad I asked. I guess I just wanted to do the right thing.

      Like

  4. mari
    September 21, 2013

    Use it for all three!!! I do it all the time. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 21, 2013

      I love it! Thank you for letting me know this is totally okay.

      Like

  5. DoingDewey
    September 22, 2013

    I’m in favor of using it for all three too πŸ™‚ If I’m doing a couple challenges on a genre I read a ton of, I might self-impose a rule against double counting books, but most of the time, I love finding a book that works for a couple of challenges.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 24, 2013

      Thanks so much! It sure sounds like I can be a little more strategic in the books I pick since I can’t stop signing up for reading challenges.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

