ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Keira Knightley

CelebClassicsButtonWHO IS IT?  Keira Knightley has acted in some wonderful classic adaptations, including Pride & Prejudice, Atonement and Anna Karenina. Keira also models for luxury brands, such as Chanel perfume. In 2012, Keira revealed she had dyslexia as a child and it was Emma Thompson’s Sense and Sensibility script that helped her start overcoming her reading difficulties.keira

WHY I LIKE THIS ACTRESS:  I admire Keira Knightley not only for her talent, but for daring not to play it safe, as I think she picked some edgier roles during her career to avoid being pinned down as a period drama actress. I thought she was perfect as Elizabeth Bennett in Pride & Prejudice. However, she drives me crazy with that droopy lip thing she does on the red carpet.

FIRST ENCOUNTER:  I probably first saw Keira in Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menance, but didn’t know it. So really I first saw her in Bend It Like Beckham and I thought she was fantastic as Jules.

FAVE CLASSICS MOVIE/SCENE:  I can never forget the scene in Pride & Prejudice when Darcy tells Elizabeth he loves her and she kisses his hand. Coming a close second is the scene where Elizabeth is twirling around in the swing deep in thought. To me it epitomized Elizabeth’s dilemma as a strong, intelligent woman with limited ability to determine the direction of her life.

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY

2002 – Doctor Zhivago (TV miniseries) ~ Lara Antipova
2004 – King Arthur ~ Guinevere
2005 – Pride & Prejudice ~ Elizabeth Bennet
2007 – Atonement ~ Cecilia Tallis
2010 – Never Let Me Go ~ Ruth C.
2012 – Anna Karenina ~ Anna Karenina

See Keira’s completely filmography on Wikipedia.

GREAT QUOTE: Well, the thing about great fictional characters from literature, and the reason that they’re constantly turned into characters in movies, is that they completely speak to what makes people human.

Who are your favourite Celebrities in Classics?

2 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Keira Knightley

  1. DoingDewey
    October 3, 2013

    I love Keira Knightley! I think I first so her in Pirates of the Caribbean, but my favorite role is definitely her Anna Karenina. I thought the whole movie was done extremely well.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 3, 2013

      You won’t believe this but I haven’t seen a single Pirates of the Caribbean movie. Love Anna Karenina too, so stylish and beautiful.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

