ebookclassics

Now Reading … Dracula by Bram Stoker

draculaOctober is the perfect time to get a little creeped out and read a scary story. When I was a preteen, I couldn’t enough of horror books and movies. One girlfriend and I watched horror movies every Friday night in her basement until we got bored with them. As for books, I went straight from school-age mysteries to Stephen King and then on to more intense, violent books, although the only author I can name right now is Shaun Hutson. Somehow I managed to still sleep at night, most likely because the real world seemed a lot scarier to me than a book or a movie.

I had never picked up what is considered a “gothic novel” until I read Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein in my twenties for a “science fiction and fantasy” course. I didn’t even know that gothic is considered a type of fiction until I started my classic book challenge. I thought gothic was a nice name for scary-looking architecture. I like the term gothic novel. It sounds dark, edgy, sexy and dangerous.

This month I will be reading Dracula for R.I.P. VIII which is the famous gothic novel written in 1897 by Bram Stoker. Vampires are fantastical creatures with supernatural powers that rule the night and consume the blood of people. They have captured our imagination for generations and continue to permeate popular culture to this day. Although Stoker was not the first author to write about vampires, Count Dracula is the character which became a fictional icon and had us both romanticizing the life of vampires, as well hiding under our bed sheets quivering with fear and covering our necks.

It will be the first time I read Dracula. I saw Francis Ford Coppola’s Bram Stoker’s Dracula in 1992 with an old boyfriend. A lot of the deeper things that Dracula represents went over my head at the time, but  my boyfriend and I thought the passion between Count Dracula and Mina was very romantic. Looking back, I have to smile thinking about squeaky clean Mina Murray falling under Dracula’s spell. Girls always fall head over heels for the bad boys.

 

12 comments on “Now Reading … Dracula by Bram Stoker

  1. Juliana
    October 8, 2013

    I think I’m going to pick this up next! I’ve never read it either, but October seems like the perfect time, doesn’t it? Hope you like it!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 8, 2013

      Oh yay, do it and we can compare notes! So far I love it. It’s easy to read and even though I know how things turn out, I can’t turn the pages fast enough.

      Like

      • Juliana
        October 8, 2013

        Good to hear! I’ll pick it up next. 🙂

        Like

  2. It’s the perfect time for Dracula 😀 I haven’t read it yet but it’s on my Classics Club List 😀

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 8, 2013

      It’s a very easy read, you’d probably zip right through it! I have never associated books with a season before, but fall really put you in the mood for something like Dracula.

      Like

  3. Sam @ Tiny Library
    October 8, 2013

    Dracula is one of my favourites!
    Be warned though, there’s no Dracula/Mina romance or even hints of it in the novel.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 8, 2013

      Ooh, very interesting. I’m okay with no Dracula/Mina romance. Looking back now on the movie the Gary Oldman/Winona Ryder match was a little icky.

      Like

  4. Ekaterina
    October 9, 2013

    Oh, I love both the book and the film! Hope you love the book too, it’s totally worth it)

    Like

  5. DoingDewey
    October 9, 2013

    I recently read Dracula for the first time too. It wasn’t my favorite of the classics, but it was fun to read it just because it’s the inspiration of so many other books 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 10, 2013

      It’s pretty incredible to think of this book being written in 1897 and how far our fascination with vampires has gone. Even now, I can’t believe vampires are still so popular.

      Like

  6. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    October 18, 2013

    I hope you enjoy this one, it’s one of my favorite classics. But I haven’t found an adaptation of it that I really loved. I haven’t seen this 1992 version though, so I’m going to check it out! It has some great actors!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

