ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Winona Ryder

CelebClassicsButtonWHO IS IT?  Now that I am reading Dracula, I’ve been looking back on Bram Stoker’s Dracula and in particular, thinking about actress Winona Ryder. During the 90s, Winona was the belle of the ball appearing in both Hollywood blockbusters and yet-to-become cult classics, including some of my faves from that decade: Heathers, Edward Scissorhands, Mermaids, Dracula, The Age of Innocence, Reality Bites, Little Women, Alien Resurrection and Girl, Interrupted. She even dated two of the hottest male actors at that time, Johnny Depp and Matt Damon.

In 2001, Winona’s personal life took an unexpected downwards spiral. Winona was arrested for shoplifting and it was revealed that not only was she suffering from anxiety and depression, but was addicted to prescription medication. Following her high profile trial, Winona still continued to work with high-caliber directors and actors, but kept noticeably out of the spotlight.winona-ryder-20131

WHY I LIKE THIS ACTRESS:  I had a love/hate relationship with Winona during the 90s, mostly because you couldn’t get away from her. She is definitely a talented, hard-working actress, but I remember feeling at times that her acting was a little over the top. Yet she is, and still remains, cute and charming. With so many great movies under her belt, it’s hard not to like Winona.

FIRST ENCOUNTER:  My first Winona movie was Beetlejuice (and I know people love this movie, but I thought it was awful). I love how in many of her earlier movies she plays the odd duck or the black sheep. She also must have the record for singing and dancing to a song in a movie. Um, let’s see: Jump In Line (Beetlejuice), Shoop Shoop Song (Mermaids), My Sharona (Reality Bites), Downtown (Girl, Interrupted). Anything else?

FAVE CLASSIC MOVIE/SCENE: Although there are so many beautiful scenes from Little Women, (spoiler ahead!) I have to say my favourite is when Beth tells her Jo she’s not afraid to die. So tragic and incredibly sad! Second fave, when Laurie proposes to Jo and I wished for the rest of the movie they would get married.


CLASSICS FILMOGRAPHY

1992 – Dracula ~ Wilhelmina “Mina” Murray/Elisabeta
1993 – The Age of Innocence ~ May Welland
1993 – The House of the Spirits ~ Blanca Trueba
1994 – Little Women ~ Josephine “Jo” March
1996 – The Crucible ~ Abigail Williams
2006 – A Scanner Darkly ~ Donna Hawthorne

See Winona’s complete filmography on Wikipedia.

GREAT QUOTE:  “I don’t know if it’s because of my love of books and the pages and the print-there’s just so much romance in them-but I hate all these doublespeak abbreviations like ‘OMG’ and ‘LOL.’ I still don’t know if that means ‘Laugh Out Loud’ or ‘Lots of Love.'”

What’s your favourite Winona movie? Who are your favourite Celebrities in Classics?

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

