ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Jonathan Rhys Meyers

WHO IS IT?  I strategically read Dracula by Bram Stoker this month in anticipation of the new TV series that will bring Jonathan Rhys Meyers back to television. Jonathan is an award-winning actor most famously known for his portrayal of King Henry VIII in The Tudors, a series I loved every minute of even though its primary protagonist was a womanizing, bad-tempered and obnoxious jerk. Jonathan has also worked as a model for Hugo Boss and Versace Men.jrm

WHY I LOVE HIM?  Jonathan is a gorgeous man, but as an actor he brings a lot of intense emotions to the screen. He has admitted himself that he looks like a bad guy and understands why people expect to see him in those roles. But Jonathan has also successfully played characters that didn’t rely on intensity to stand out, such as his performance as Elvis that he won a Golden Globe for in 2005.

FIRST ENCOUNTER:  I first saw Jonathan in Bend It Like Beckham where he played the coach/love interest of the two main characters. I have to admit I barely noticed him because I was more interested in what was happening with Parminder Nagra and Keira Knightley’s characters.

FAVE CLASSICS SCENE:  I’m going to cheat a little as this scene isn’t from a classic book adaptation, but from The Tudors. It’s the final scene of the series when old and overweight Henry is finished looking back on his life and loves, and a faceless horseman comes for his younger (incredibly dreamy-looking) self which I took to be his spirit or soul. It’s a beautiful, mystical ending to a very dramatic series.

CLASSICS FILMOGRAPHY

1999 – Titus ~ Chiron
2002 – The Magnificent Ambersons ~ George Amberson Minafer
2004 – Vanity Fair ~ Captain George Osborne
2011 – Albert Nobbs ~ Viscount Yarrell
2012 – Belle du Seigneur ~ Solal
2013 – Dracula ~ Dracula / Alexander Grayson

See all of Jonathan’s filmography on Wikipedia.

GREAT QUOTE ON DRACULAOh, he’s a monster. I want the audience to see him as such. The thing that makes the Dracula story interesting is he’s 99 percent monster and 1 percent human. It’s the 1 percent that causes all the problems. This little bit of humanity is what causes the conflict. If he was all monster, there would be bliss.

Who is your favourite celebrity in a classic book adaptation?

7 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Jonathan Rhys Meyers

  1. lauratfrey
    October 24, 2013

    Oh my god I love him. Have I mentioned you have impeccable taste? 🙂 I cannot watch this clip though, because I’m behind on Tudors – I think I stopped watching in season 4 (?) – honestly it wasn’t as good for me after Anne Boleyn got the axe, because I had a mega girl-crush on that actress, possibly more so than my JRM crush 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 24, 2013

      You DO have impeccable taste! Are you going to check out Dracula?

      I love Natalie Dormer too! She’s on Game of Thrones too and I just found out she has a guest role on Elementary … another TV show I want to catch up on.

      Like

  2. jessicabookworm
    October 24, 2013

    It is far too hard to pick just one celebrity I’ve enjoyed in a classic adaptation! I am really looking forward to watching the new Dracula series 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 24, 2013

      Me too! It’s getting mixed reviews in the media, but it will be nice to see how JRM plays Dracula. Or just stare at him for an hour …

      Like

  3. Juliana -- Epilogues
    October 25, 2013

    Wow, that’s a brilliant quote there at the end. I don’t really know much about this guy, but he looks like he might put an interesting spin on this! I’m really glad I read the book now, so I can check out the show without spoiling the story. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 25, 2013

      The TV show is getting bad reviews, so I’m a little afraid it won’t do well. But I highly recommend The Tudors if you want to see him action.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

