ebookclassics

The Count of Monte Cristo – Read-a-Long

count‘On what slender threads do life and fortune hang’

Thrown in prison for a crime he has not committed, Edmond Dantès is confined to the grim fortress of If. There he learns of a great hoard of treasure hidden on the Isle of Monte Cristo and he becomes determined not only to escape, but also to unearth the treasure and use it to plot the destruction of the three men responsible for his incarceration. Dumas’ epic tale of suffering and retribution, inspired by a real-life case of wrongful imprisonment, was a huge popular success when it was first serialised in the 1840s.

From Goodreads

Elyssa @ Unscripted is hosting a read-a-long of The Count of Monte Cristo until November 29th. I’m a little late joining the party since I only started reading the book yesterday, but figure I’ll just wing it. I have never read anything by Alexandre Dumas before now, but I have always been a big fan of The Three Musketeers movies (I even ate 3 Musketeers chocolate bars as a kid out of my devotion to Athos, Aramis and Porthos (do they still even make that chocolate bar?).

From pop culture osmosis, I’m familiar with the premise of The Count of Monte Cristo. Five chapters into the book, I already like that major characters have been introduced and the famous plot has been set into motion. I will try not to use The Simpsons episode, Revenge Is A Dish Best Served Three Times as a reference. Emphasis on try.

fatso

5 comments on “The Count of Monte Cristo – Read-a-Long

  1. Juliana -- Epilogues
    October 25, 2013

    Oh, this one’s on my list too! Would love to hear what you think about it.

    The Simpsons are so culturally relevant. Seriously, do they have an answer for everything? 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 26, 2013

      I love The Simpsons, but I haven’t been keeping up with the show for the last few years. How long have they been around now? 25 years?

      A few other bloggers recently read the book and gave it positive reviews, so I think it will a good book. Although I did read a chapter this afternoon where the characters were talking about Napoleonic politics or something like that and it made me very very sleepy. But I was on the afternoon train going home.

      Like

  2. DoingDewey
    October 27, 2013

    If I hadn’t just read this, I’d be tempted to join in, but it’s definitely too long for a re-read! I hope you have a great time with the read-a-long 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 27, 2013

      Thanks! I really enjoyed reading your review for both the book and movie, so it will be fun to compare notes when I’m finished.

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Moonstone – Read-a-Long | ebookclassics

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

