ebookclassics

Girl Friday #1

GirlFridayAnd here I share some thoughts on this past week …

Halloween was this week and even though I usually start planning after Labour Day, I lost my enthusiasm along the way and then procrastinated so badly, I was running around the day before buying last minute costume accessories. I got fabric glue all over my son’s wizard cape and made a burn mark in the basement carpet trying to set said glue. Whoops!

I joined Goodreads! I’m a little intimidated by how much is going on the site, but at the same time wowed. It’s going to take some time to learn the ropes. Is there a Goodreads for Dummies out there? I have nothing against the authors making friend requests, but I’m not planning to read any of their books. On Twitter, I stopped following them a long time ago.

The only book I read this week was The Count of Monte Cristo for a read-a-long with Elyssa @ Unscripted. I’m waaaay behind the reading schedule, but hope to make some progress this weekend.

How can it be November? I think I’m reading too slowly. I have quite a few books that I want to read before the year is over, but at this rate it’s not going to happen. I usually read during my train commute, but I think I may have to get back into the habit of reading during lunch breaks. Maybe also take a few tips from Bookriot about sneaking in reading at home.

5 comments on “Girl Friday #1

  1. I can’t believe it’s November either. Where did the year go? After reading very fast for many months, I’ve slowed down a lot lately too. But I’m ok with it, as long as I’m doing useful things (writing, exercising, hanging with friends) in place of reading. I liked that Book Riot post — I’ve downloaded a couple books to my phone that I’m going to try sneaking in small doses too.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 4, 2013

      You make a good point about making sure you are doing other useful things in place of reading. I completely agree with you! I experimented a little over the weekend and discovered I can squeeze about an extra hour or so of reading! For instance, I used to look at magazines when I had ten minutes of downtime, so I chose to read my book instead. All of those extra minutes really added up to a few more chapters!

      Like

  2. jessicabookworm
    November 4, 2013

    November seems to have come around so quickly! I look forward to hearing your thoughts on The Count of Monte Cristo I have it on my Classics Club list. Happy reading in November 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 4, 2013

      Time is going by so fast! I’m enjoying The Count of Monte Cristo very much and I think I prefer it over The Moonstone which I am also reading. I hope you are also enjoying your November read. Working your way through The Chronicles of Narnia?

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

