ebookclassics

Blog Life – Bookish Memes and Surveys

bloglifeAs you may have seen from my activity over the past few months, I have no problem signing up for read-a-longs. The more the better! Nothing gives me greater motivation to read a book than a deadline and a few fellow bloggers to chat with about what’s great or not-so-great about a book. What I do have challenges participating in are bookish memes and surveys.

Every time I attempt to write a top ten list or answer a survey, I freeze up. I quickly discovered that I can’t name Books You’ve Read Multiple Times or the Best Series You Started But Never Finished or even the Top Ten Contemporary Books That Would Be Great Paired With A Required Reading Book. I just haven’t read enough to answer these questions!

A little history: I read voraciously up until my twenties and then I just stopped. I was dealing with a lot of stuff and didn’t think I had any room in my life for books anymore. I read magazine and newspapers; I read strictly to get information. From my thirties onwards, I read a smattering of books up until I began my classic book challenge and this blog. Therefore, my knowledge of books is very limited and mostly dependent on anything I picked up from pop culture over the years.

I realize there are probably memes or survey questions that don’t require my having read hundreds and hundreds of books. I just need to track those ones down and then I can join the fun. Until then, I’ll keep enjoying everybody else’s top ten lists. 🙂

6 comments on “Blog Life – Bookish Memes and Surveys

  1. DoingDewey
    November 7, 2013

    I’m thinking of starting to do the Sunday Salon, which just lets you do discussion posts on whatever topic you like, so that might appeal to you. I’ve also been nervous to try things like Top Ten Tuesday though, I think I’d feel put on the spot trying to come up with ten books for one topic like that!

    Like

  2. Riv (@Rivorniel)
    November 7, 2013

    I’ve had the same kind of thoughts when thinking of Top Ten Tuesday sometimes, so I don’t do it very often, only those times when the topic really attracts me. Otherwise I don’t really do memes, because I have a feeling that they can potentially get really repetitive really fast. Exception being the Sunday posts, which are basically recaps of the week – reading-wise, and little bit of general life mixed in.

    However, in Top Ten Tuesday I always see lists with fewer than ten books listed – if you can’t think of ten, you can just use the number of examples you can think of.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 7, 2013

      That’s a very good point about not having to strictly list 10 books. I’ll definitely keep that in mind if I decide to take the plunge and try a top ten meme.

      I must confess that I was inspired by your Sunday Snippets (and Tiny Library’s Sam Sunday) to create a similar recap post. I really enjoy hearing what else is going on in a blogger’s life. And I love the photos of your cat! 🙂

      Like

  3. Sam (Tiny Library)
    November 7, 2013

    I second the idea of the Sunday Salon, I always enjoy those posts on blogs as they are more individual. Personally, I much prefer reading a book review/discussion to a meme or survey post anyway, but I know they are popular on most blogs.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 8, 2013

      As a reader, I agree with you that book reviews are more interesting. I think it’s my blogger side that enjoys memes/surveys and find them entertaining.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

