ebookclassics

Still reading … The Count of Monte Cristo

tcomc-ra-button* CONTAINS SPOILERS

Eek! I am really REALLY behind on The Count of Monte Cristo (up to a pitiful Chapter 34), so I’m determined to dig in this week and gain some ground on this book. Only TWO weeks left in the read-a-long!

Bonapartism

Random Personal Fact: When I was in high school, I wrote an essay comparing the dictatorships of Napoleon and Mussolini. I had chosen these historical figures for no other reason than I had recently watched a documentary about Napoleon and a TV series about Mussolini starring George C. Scott. Yes, I watched a lot of television back then too. Since my essay focused on the authoritative style of these men, I didn’t know about some of Napoleon’s history that is mentioned in The Count of Monte Cristo, such as his exile to the island of Elba.

Edmond Dantés

I really felt for poor, innocent Dantés and can’t imagine what it would be like to have your whole life ripped away because of someone else’s jealousies or secrets. I will take great delight in reading how he gets his revenge. Dantés is truly a good guy and I especially admired how loyal he remained to Faria after they lost their opportunity to escape the prison. However, I think he may be a little too perfect and wonder if we will see any flaws to his character once he starts executing his plan for vengeance.

Franz d’Épinay

I just read some really long chapters from the point of view of Franz d’Épinay, specifically a chapter call The Roman Bandits. Interesting … but I couldn’t help wondering what happened to Dantés until the name “Sinbad the Sailor” is hinted here and there. So I guess this story of vengeance has a greater cast of characters and a thicker plot than I expected.

4 comments on “Still reading … The Count of Monte Cristo

  1. DoingDewey
    November 14, 2013

    I remember being surprised when the whole digression about d’Epinay became relevant too! This really is a very long and winding book 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 14, 2013

      I’m a little bit deeper now and can see where some of this is leading (I think), but amazed that I still have over 70 chapters to go (yikes!), so what’s next? It really is a long and winding book …

      Like

  2. Fanda
    November 15, 2013

    You’re right about Dantes, it’s a bit ‘too good to be true’, isn’t it? But after some reflections, I think the long years he has spent in jail taught him a lot about patience and perfection. So, every bit of his revenge plan was considered and planned very carefully.

    Enjoy your reading, then… 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 18, 2013

      I’m much deeper into the book now and you are right, he is definitely taking his time and being very patient with his revenge. He seems much colder and calculating as The Count of Monte Cristo. The man who was a sailor and then in prison seems to be long gone.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

