ebookclassics

Girl Friday #2

GirlFridayTis the season …

I don’t know about you, but it seems to me the holiday season now starts on November 1st. It’s easy for us in Canada to get into the spirit because we had our Thanksgiving in mid-October and with Halloween also out of the way, planning for Christmas just seems the thing to do. Already there’s a beautiful, massive Christmas tree in the lobby of my office building, holiday music being played on the radio and, best of all, the store discount emails are rolling in. I love buying gifts, but I especially love buying gifts and getting a good deal. Let the deal hunting begin!

Hospital Regulars

I had to take my youngest for another emergency trip to the hospital. It’s probably the fifth or sixth trip for the poor little guy. Based on previous trips, I packed several days worth of gear into our diaper bag. Yet it only took the doctor two seconds to fix his arm. “Wow, ” I said. “I dislocated my own kid’s arm when he was this age,” laughed the doctor. Seems it was a simple case of “pulled elbow” or “nursemaid’s elbow” caused by the sudden yanking of a not quite developed joint, very common with toddlers. Phew!

Juggling Two Books

I used to be a book monogamist because the idea of reading more than one book completely freaked me out. Then I did really well with multiple books for a few consecutive months and thought I was a rock star. Not doing so well in November with two books and even though I know it’s okay not to finish the book by a set date, I like being punctual; I like meeting deadlines. It would drive me nuts not to be finished on time. I was going to read two books in December, but now I think I may need to rethink that idea.

Watching: The Walking Dead (S4), Downtown Abbey (S4), American Horror Story (S3), Sons of Anarchy (S3), Community (S2), The Vampire Diaries (S5)

Listening: The Biggest Hits and Let the Good Times Roll playlists on Songza

6 comments on “Girl Friday #2

  1. Riv @ Bookish Realm
    November 15, 2013

    I’m a big book juggler myself, but the catch is that I don’t think I’d be able to read more classics than one at a time. So I tend to read a classics and then something easier on the side.

    Good thing that everything turned out fine with the kid! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 18, 2013

      Thanks! I don’t know why I moaned and complained so much about juggling two books. I’m making progress and I still have time to finish. Reading one classic and one lighter book seems like a good method. What’s the biggest number of books you’ve read at the same time?

      Like

      • Riv @ Bookish Realm
        November 20, 2013

        Hmm good question. I can have several, there are books I can read and then put aside for a very long time, but technically I’m still “reading” them, like now I have a book on anxiety that I haven’t quite finished yet. But usually there is max 3 books I read actively, most of the times 2 – a classic and then a more modern book. Now I have 3 books (2 classics – The Moonstone and Slaughterhouse-Five) and a sci-fi dystopian book (Parasite) just because I can’t really get into Slaughterhouse, so I’m reading it bit by bit and other books more actively.

        Also, if there is a month-long readalong then this book is kind of an “extra” that I try stretching through the month, so in that case it’s always 3 books at the same time.

        I hope that makes sense! Sometimes I hate not being able to focus on one book only and I really admire people who can do it.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          November 20, 2013

          Wow, you seem to have your method down! I really wish I could read more books, but two seems to be the limit.

          Like

  2. emucoleman
    November 15, 2013

    I’m so jealous that you’re already done with Thanksgiving. I love Thanksgiving, but I love Christmas most of all and I always can’t wait to celebrate it. But my husband insists that it’s not really the Christmas season until Thanksgiving is over. Argh!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 18, 2013

      Ha ha … I know what you mean. I love Christmas and it has new meaning for us with kids in the picture. This weekend all of our neighbours put up their Christmas lights so at night you would think it was December. At least you only have a few more weeks to wait for Thanksgiving and then you can go nuts. πŸ™‚

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

