ebookclassics

Girl Friday #3

Call me crazy, but I couldn’t wait for the Black Friday sales and have already started my Christmas shopping! I pledged to buy as many books as possible as gifts this year and here are a few of the books I picked up.

lcbo

The 500 Best-Value Wines in the LCBO: A great guide because it features wine that can be purchased at the LCBO stores here in Ontario. I have bought this guide for the wine lover in my family for the past three of four years with the exception of 2012 when a guide wasn’t published. I actually contacted the author, Rod Philips from Ottawa, Ontario to ask about the gap and he was very good in responding right away to let me know that the publisher couldn’t financially back the book when their distributor went bankrupt.

julia child

My Life in France by Julia Child: One of the foodies in my family is a big fan of Julia Child and loved the movie Julie & Julia starring Meryl Streep and Amy Adams. I also loved the movie, including the parts that detail Julia Child’s trials and tribulations learning to become a chef at the Le Cordon Bleu school in Paris. The movie was adapted from Julia Child’s autobiography, My Life in France, and I thought this would be a good pick for my beloved foodie.

weird

Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader – Weird Canada (by Uncle John?): I was thinking of buying a book about Google for the techie in my family because he had been interviewing for a job with them, but changed my mind at the last minute in the book store. Thank goodness I went with my gut … he got turned down twice! Now what to buy? Even though he was born in Canada and lives here now, my techie spent most of his childhood in Australia. He always strikes me as viewing the country with the eyes of an outsider. I’m considering this book for him as I think all of the random factoids, quotes and stories will appeal to his fascination with Canadiana.

What books are you going to gift this year or want to receive as a gift?

7 comments on “Girl Friday #3

  1. Julie
    November 22, 2013

    I would consider that first book a personal challenge! But with only 365 days in a year and 500 wines…that could be tough! Is it 500 new wines every year or are there repeats?? I also read the Julia Child book and loved it! It did not however inspire me to cook!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 22, 2013

      LOL…yeah, that’s a lot of wine to drink! Maybe a few bottles a day? I’m not sure if there are repeats, but if you were working your way through 500 wines, you probably wouldn’t remember anyway.

      I thought about trying to cook my way through Mastering the Art of French Cooking, but realized I would probably burn the beef bourguignon and humiliate myself.

      Like

  2. Riv @ Bookish Realm
    November 23, 2013

    My Life in France looks wonderful – I watched the movie Julie & Julia (I think it was that way around) and though I wasn’t sure about Julie parts, Julia Child was so wonderfully portrayed by Meryl Streep.

    I have bought a few geeky books for fiancé for Christmas (from Book Depository 50 book campaign), maybe I’ll get some more for him. I would like to get Letters from Father Christmas by Tolkien, but that is probably a gift I have to make myself.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2013

      Letters from Father Christmas sounds perfect for the holidays. Unfortunately, sometimes you have to be your own Santa. 🙂

      Like

  3. DoingDewey
    November 24, 2013

    I love your idea of giving as many books as possible and have been considering doing the same thing. Since starting blogging, I’ve loved giving book recommendations and giving books appeals to me in the same way 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2013

      Somehow sharing my love of books and reading seems to complement the warm and cozy feelings of the holidays. Do you have an eye on any books for your own wish list? Maybe some more non-fiction?

      Like

      • DoingDewey
        November 27, 2013

        I actually don’t often ask for books as presents. I use the library a lot so I’m usually able to read books without anyone paying for them. I might think about asking for some of the books I’ve already read and loved enough that I have to own them though, like Caitlin Moran’s How To Be a Woman or Lean In 🙂

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

