ebookclassics

Girl Friday #4

Still reading The Moonstone … and should be finished by the weekend. I didn’t realize there were going to be so many narrators. I can’t say I love this book, but I am curious to know who took the darn diamond!

Literary Advent Calendar – A brilliant idea by another blogger to open and read one book every day leading up to Christmas with her kids. After hauling 25+ Christmas books home from the library, I realized after wrapping 6 books that there was no way I was going to wrap that many books! Sorry kids, I’ll just stick them in a pretty basket. Grandma’s going to come sweeping in with the chocolate calendar anyway.

A few more books purchased as Christmas gifts!

wolf

The Wolf on Wall Street – Someone in my family loves the 80s movie Wall Street starring Charlie Sheen and Michael Douglas, and sometimes even quotes Gordon Gecko. I have a feeling this movie will be his next Wall Street, so he might as well read the book before he sees the adaptation. It might also make up for his disappointment in Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, apparently a real stinker.

Gordon Gekko: The point is ladies and gentlemen that greed, for lack of a better word, is good.

stats

Stats Canada: Satire On A National Scale – This book is based on the anonymous Twitter account @stats_canada who tweets fascinating stats such as: 32% of Canadians can’t spell “tuque” but own at least four and 100% of Canadian hockey players give it 110% every game. Instead of Weird Canada, I decided to buy the techie this book since it contains charts and maps. Some people enjoy those kind of things.

What books are you giving this year or want to receive as a gift?

2 comments on “Girl Friday #4

  1. Juliana @ Epilogues
    December 6, 2013

    Still chugging along on the Moonstone! I hope you feel it was worth it in the end. 🙂

    Also, I love that advent calendar idea! Really cute. I bet your kids are loving it.

    Like

  2. mari
    December 10, 2013

    Yeah, the whole wrapping thing was just not going to happen. I hate wrapping. 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

