ebookclassics

2014 Reading Challenges

As frightening as it is, 2014 is just around the corner and I’ve been pretty clueless about how to start my second year reading and blogging about classic books. Luckily, I discovered two great challenges that I think will make it an interesting year.

dewey

The Book To Movie Challenge 2 is hosted by Katie @ Doing Dewey and will help me catch up on some great book-to-movie adaptations. I will be participating at the Movie Fan level which requires I read 3 books and watch their movies. Glancing at my TBR list, I think it might be fun to have a theme and read books that appeal to my “inner tomboy”, such as Treasure Island, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea or The Call of the Wild. Or I could do a children’s theme and choose books like Peter Pan or The Wizard of Oz. Decisions, decisions!

russian literature 2014

Next the Russian Literature 2014 challenge hosted by Behold the Stars seems like a great reason to tackle the Russian authors I’ve been eyeing on my list. I will participate at Level 1 and read 1-3 books for the challenge. What should I read first? A book like War and Peace really intimidates me because it’s massive and dense with characters, history, politics, etc. It’s a mountain to climb that both excites and terrifies me. But maybe all the good reason to choose it first and start 2014 with a bang.

In addition to the above challenges, I’m still planning a Canadian literature reading challenge of 6 books with my friend @librarikat.

Will you join me in these challenges? What book are you going to read first in 2014?

8 comments on “2014 Reading Challenges

  1. o
    December 12, 2013

    War and Peace isn’t so scary when you get into it. I put it off for years, but now I’ve read it twice! I may even read it a third time next year, a new translation this time, though.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 13, 2013

      What new translation do you have? I took a peek at it on my ereader … 366 chapters. Eep! But I’m sure you are right and I should just dive in. It may take me the whole year to read, but I’ll probably love it.

      Like

  2. DoingDewey
    December 13, 2013

    Thanks for joining in! I’ve been enjoying your actor features so I’m excited to see your movie reviews 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 13, 2013

      I’m so excited about your challenge. I’m leaning towards reading some of children’s classics like Alice in Wonderland because there’s been so many great new movie versions. What are you planning to read first?

      Like

      • DoingDewey
        December 13, 2013

        That’s a good question! I’m trying to decide if I want to watch The Book Thief or not and I think I might wait and watch it next year when it’s not in theaters. I’m sure I’m going to cry at the end and I think I’d prefer to do that at home 🙂 If it doesn’t come out for a while, I’m not sure what I’ll start with.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          December 18, 2013

          The Book Thief looks really good. I think it says something about a story when you are touched and it makes you cry. Dark movie theatres are good for those kind of movies. 🙂

          Like

  3. lauratfrey
    December 13, 2013

    I’m thinking about the Russian challenge. But how come there are zero female Russian writers? I’ve noticed that before and google is not helping… were there really no women writing in Russian back then??

    I think I might read another Dostoevsky as I really enjoyed The Idiot.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 13, 2013

      I haven’t heard of a single female writer from that time, so maybe they were writing but never got published. I noticed in all the Russia’s Open Book promotions this week there are a few female writers in the group they are claiming could be the next Tolstoy, etc.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2013 by in Headlines.

Now reading

and …

and …

