ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Leonardo Dicaprio

LeoWHO IS IT?  It seems every movie I’ve watched lately with my husband stars Leonardo Dicaprio. We recently watched Shutter Island and the latest adaptation of The Great Gatsby. For Christmas, I’m giving hubby The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort in which Leo stars in the upcoming movie. Hearing that Leo’s performance is Oscar-worthy, I started thinking about his career. If you didn’t already know, he has been acting since childhood and has been nominated for countless awards as an adult. Outside of acting, Leo is a dedicated environmentalist and philanthropist, donating millions of dollars to charity.

WHY I LIKE THIS ACTOR:  In his youth, Leo gave me the impression he was only interested in playing intense characters. He didn’t want to appear in any kind of movie where people are normal and normal things happen. I dare say Leo has mellowed a little with age. He’s still picking interesting projects, but has experimented quite successfully with characters, genres and time periods. Directors like Martin Scorsese and Baz Luhrman must love him because he has repeatedly starred in their movies.

romeoFIRST ENCOUNTER: The first movie I saw Leo in was The Basketball Diaries where he played a teenaged heroin addict. He was sixteen at the time and both critics and I were blown away by his talent.

FAVE CLASSIC:  I love Leo in the Baz Luhrman adaptation of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. It’s hard to describe the ferocity Leo brings to his characters and yet also tenderness and sensitivity, and this stood out so strongly for me in Rome + Juliet. I had a crush on Leo in the early nineties, but his performance as Romeo made me see him as more than a pretty face.

CLASSIC ADAPTATION FILMOGRAPHY

1996 – Romeo + Juliet ~ Romeo
1998 – The Man in the Iron Mask ~ King Louis XIV / Philippe
2008 – Revolutionary Road ~ Frank Wheeler
2013 – The Great Gatsby ~ Jay Gatsby

See Leo’s entire filmography listing at Wikipedia.

GREAT QUOTE: “I remember reading the book in high school and always thinking of Gatsby as this strong, stoic, suave, mysterious man who had everything under control. But when I read it as an adult I realised he is a hollow man, a shell of a person trying to find meaning, who is not completely in touch with reality. He’s a great tragedy and the story’s a great tragedy, too.”

 Who are your favourite Celebrities in Classics?

13 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Leonardo Dicaprio

  1. Juliana @ Epilogues
    December 18, 2013

    Mmm. Leo. I hadn’t realized he’d done so many classics! I still haven’t seen all of his movies, but I’ve loved pretty much everything I’ve seen him in. I think my first encounter was Growing Pains! Ah, that show was ridiculous. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 19, 2013

      Do you have a favourite Leo movie? Even though I was crushing on him, I don’t think I took him seriously at all until Romeo + Juliet. Don’t laugh but I mainly watched Growing Pains because of Kirk Cameron … I’ve always been boy crazy, guess I still am!

      Like

      • Juliana @ Epilogues
        December 19, 2013

        I would never laugh at that. Mike Seaver was the best! I think one of my faves is Catch Me if You Can, for whatever reason! I have seen that a few times.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          December 21, 2013

          Leo is so good in Catch Me If You Can and it’s one of my husband’s favourite movies. Every time it’s on TV (which is a lot), he watches it.

          Like

          • Juliana @ Epilogues
            December 21, 2013

            It is on a lot! I just saw it recently. Good taste! 🙂

            Like

  2. Riv @ Bookish Realm
    December 19, 2013

    I think Leonardo diCaprio is a very interesting actor and a good example of how to get better while maturing. I must confess that back in the day I took him for just another pretty face, but I really love his latest works (Gatsby, Shutter Island, Inception, Django Unchained come to mind – I actually started liking him after Catch Me if You Can, which I remember watching more than once).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 19, 2013

      What’s your favourite Leo movie? I think I’ve seen most of his movies over the last few years except Django Unchained or J. Edgar. Have you seen J. Edgar? I’m curious about that movie too because of Leo, but a little weary of movies directed by Clint Eastwood.

      Like

      • Riv @ Bookish Realm
        December 19, 2013

        A tough question! Out of the ones I’ve seen I’d say my favourite movie overall is Inception just because I heavily lean towards all kinds of sci-fi/fantasy especially when it comes to films/series, but the movie in which I liked Leonardo’s performance the most is probably The Great Gatsby. It was such a good role opportunity for him to play such a powerful and conflicted character; I still can imagine those nerve twitches that I also imagined while reading the book.

        I haven’t seen J. Edgar but I will be adding it to my list! Thanks for the tip!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          December 21, 2013

          Inception is an amazing movie! I was thinking about the story for days after I saw it, especially about the top spinning because I’m not quite sure I understand what it all means. 🙂

          Like

          • Riv @ Bookish Realm
            December 23, 2013

            Exactly the same experience. I would like to see it again soon to see how many new details I would pick up 🙂

            Like

  3. lauratfrey
    December 23, 2013

    I was obsessed with Basketball Diaries. Such a good movie. May have been my first Leo encounter too, not sure! I never did see What`s Eating Gilbert Grape…

    There`s a billboard near my house with Leo doing a watch advertisement… distracted driving potential right there… hah

    Have you read Kelly Oxford`s book yet? There’s a hilarious story about her going to LA as a teen to try and meet him.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 26, 2013

      That’s so funny because I walked by a watch ad with Leo the day I was writing this post. It took it as a sign.

      From what I remember about What’s Eating Gilbert Grape, Leo mostly does a lot of drooling and screeching, and Johnny Depp just mopes around. What’s your favourite Leo movie now?

      I haven’t read Kelly Oxford’s book, but it does sound hilarious. I will look for it.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

