ebookclassics

Secret Santa … With A Twist!

I had the honour of being asked to join a Secret Santa book exchange hosted by Rick from Another Book Blog along with some other amazing book bloggers, Laura (from Reading In Bed), Rory (from Fourth Street Review), Carolyn (from Rosemary and Reading Glasses) and Heather (from Between the Covers).

As a Secret Santa, I get to pick a book for my randomly chosen blogger. The blogger doesn’t have to buy the book I choose, just read the book and write a guest post for my blog. Easy peasy.

To my delight, I’m the Secret Santa for Laura at Reading in Bed!

I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know Laura over the last year ever since I participated in the read-a-long she hosted for Moby Dick. However, I quickly started to stress about choosing a book for her. So I may have procrastinated way too long over my decision.

android

In the end, I chose Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick, a classic science fiction book. Published in 1968 and considered Dick’s most famous work, the book is about a bounty hunter in a post-apocalyptic time whose mission is to find and “retire” renegade androids.

I’m a big fan of science fiction. Like most people, I had seen the movie, Bladerunner, and probably also like most people, had no clue what going on. Years later, I read the book and still had no clue what was going on! Luckily, I read the book for a university course where I got a better understanding of the underlying themes in the plot. I started reading more of Philip K. Dick’s work after that and found I enjoyed his style of storytelling and sense of humour, and how he turned the ordinary into the extraordinary.

Laura, I don’t think this book will change your life, but hopefully you find it interesting to dabble in a different genre to start off 2014. Merry Christmas!

12 comments on “Secret Santa … With A Twist!

  1. Heather
    December 24, 2013

    Great choice!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 26, 2013

      Thanks! The book isn’t for everyone, but hopefully she finds it interesting. At least it’s got to be better than dragon sex.

      Like

  2. Rick @ AnotherBookBlog.com
    December 24, 2013

    This has already been so much fun that I might have to think of excuses to do it more than once a year.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 26, 2013

      It has been fun and could be a good way to mix things up throughout the year!

      Like

  3. Carolyn O
    December 25, 2013

    Nice call! I read this last year, and it was so weird and cool — maybe I should pick up another of his books.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 26, 2013

      Weird and cool is definitely a good way to describe the book. The Man in the High Castle is probably his other best known book, but he has written a lot of great short stories. Many of them have been made into movies like Total Recall, Minority Report, Paycheck, etc.

      Like

  4. lauratfrey
    December 25, 2013

    I have never seen Bladerunner, so I have no idea what I’m in for! This is great, out of my comfort zone but still on my classics club list 🙂 and is available at the library. Thank you!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 26, 2013

      Bladerunner is a weird, spacey, WTF kind of movie, but people seem to love it. Of course, I think the book is better. Enjoy!

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        December 31, 2013

        I think I’m going to get the movie too, and do a combined review. It’ll work as a guest post since you often post about adaptations and what not. Plus my husband wants to see it, though he had it confused with Running Man at first 🙂

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          December 31, 2013

          Awesome, I like it! I look forward to you and hubby’s thoughts on the movie.

          Like

  5. lauratfrey
    January 2, 2014

    Okay so I finished it… and I’m so confused!! I’m glad to hear you were too 🙂 I did enjoy the themes though, particularly, what does it mean to be human? Is it a physical thing, spiritual, social?

    Oh and also the unsexiest sex scene ever lol.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 2, 2014

      Totally unsexy! Like, mannequins on top of each other unsexy! 🙂

      Sorry, I know it’s such an unconventional book/movie. I think the hardest part for me is that you can figure out some of the themes, etc. but you are still left with a lot of questions about what it all means, but with no hope of getting answers. Maybe that’s why the book has resonated so strongly with readers after all these years.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 24, 2013 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

