ebookclassics

Girl Friday #5

Blogiversary1

Blogiversary

On Christmas Day, my blog turned one year old! I started writing a wrap-up post for 2013 and then moved on to goals for 2014, but it all felt like blah blah blah. So I decided to just skip it! I will quickly note that in 2013 I read 23 classic books and some of the authors I read for the first time were Leo Tolstoy, Charlotte Brontë, Alexandre Dumas and Wilkie Collins.

 

lisa

Little Women

Within an hour of finishing Little Women, I watched the 1992 movie on Netflix. About 30 minutes into the movie, I felt a little sick. As if I was going to overdose on Little Women. I persisted with the movie (dreamy, younger Christian Bale helped!), but I was too worn out to know whether I enjoyed it or not.

 

screen

Kobo Mini

I didn’t receive any books or gift cards for Christmas, but I did get a new Kobo Mini ereader which can replace the dinosaur I’ve been reading on. It’s a whole new world because I can finally look up words, highlight and add notes! It also fits in my pocket and away from children with sticky fingers. Don’t laugh, but I haven’t removed the plastic film off the screen. It’s my version of not wanting to write in a pretty, new notebook.

 

the-dubliners-1The Dubliners

Carolyn from Rosemary and Reading Glasses is my Secret Santa in a fun bookish twist on the traditional gift exchange and she selected The Dubliners by James Joyce for me to read. I have never read anything by Joyce before, but when I dived into this collection of short stories, I started having a weird sense of déjà vu. Finally, I realized that I was familiar with some of the stories because Thomas Foster uses them as examples in his book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor which I also read in 2013 (a great book by the way).

 

paradise-lost-8

Here I Go Again

I have a bad history with poetry and never made it through either The Odyssey or The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock last year. But I still joined Carolyn’s read-a-long of Paradise Lost for January and February because I can’t give up. However, my new Kobo, just like aforementioned dinosaur, runs lines of poetry together into a big mess on the screen. Not helpful when you’re already fearful of taking on a behemoth like Paradise Lost. I may need to find another ebook or to pick up an actual physical copy of the book. Pages you can turn? It’s been so long!

Happy New Year! What are you reading to start the year?

6 comments on “Girl Friday #5

  1. Naomi
    January 3, 2014

    Congratulations on your first year of blogging! Looking forward to your next!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 3, 2014

      Thank you! I may have gotten in over my head with Milton (and gulp! Russian literature), but hey! Why not?

      Like

  2. Juliana @ Epilogues
    January 4, 2014

    Happy blogaversary! Kudos to you for tackling Paradise Lost AND James Joyce. I hope you like them!

    Like

  3. Heather
    January 4, 2014

    Happy Blogging Anniversary!

    Like

  4. christinasr
    January 5, 2014

    Happy Blogging Anniversary!

    Like

  5. DoingDewey
    January 5, 2014

    Congrats on your blogaversary! I hope you love your new kobo 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

