ebookclassics

Girl Friday #6

identity

Identity Crisis

One of my goals in 2014 is to find a bookish community in my own backyard, so I joined a local book club (I am yet to attend a meeting). The book for February is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and it took me completely by surprise how much I enjoyed reading this book. After reading nothing but classics for the last 15 months, this book had more impact on me than probably the last 6 classics I read. I didn’t realize I was craving more contemporary stories. No antiquated words, trying to figure out the historical context, shrugging off outdated perspectives and weird social norms. I was already planning to read more Canadian literature this year, but now I’m thinking of reading whatever takes my fancy. But does branching out from my niche of reading the classics mean I’m no longer ebookclassics? Do I need a new name or blog?

expulsion

Alexandre Cabanel – 1867

February Reading

  • The Paradise Lost read-a-long continues with Books VII–XII. I was studying the Old Testament prior to joining this read-a-long, so it has been fascinating to read the story from Milton’s perspective. But his poem is much more exhilarating.
  • For my CanLit challenge, I’m still reading In the Skin of a Lion by Michael Ondaatje (someone please tell me how to properly pronounce his name). It’s a dream-like, slow motion book. I like it, but wonder where it’s going.
  • You will be totally surprised that I signed up to read Divergent by Veronica Roth in February with Book-alicious Mama. Why not? What identity crisis?
  • For Black History Month, I will also be reading The Souls Of Black Folk by W. E. B. Du Bois from my classic book list. The book was published in 1903 and contains a collection of essays by Mr. Du Bois on being an African-American in American society.

bossy

For Comedy Nerds

For any fellow fans of stand-up comics and comedy shows, I thought I would share this very comprehensive list of books written by comedians. I’ve only read Bossypants by Tina Fey, but I think I need to read more of these stat!

What are you reading in February?

6 comments on “Girl Friday #6

  1. Julie
    January 24, 2014

    Welcome to the dark side!! I think you can keep on being ebookclassics as long as you like. However if you do want to change your name, I would still read your blog…so either way!

    As for Michael Ondaatje (I’ve always pronounce it something like On-don-chay)…people go on and on about what a fabulous writer he is, but I’ve never found him anything other than ‘so-so’ and frankly a bit boring…but that’s just me.

    Let me know when you have finished Divergent. I’m curious to get your take on it. I have read the first two books in the trilogy. I don’t want to bias you, so that’s all I will say about that.

    In February I am debating starting the 2nd book in A Game of Thrones. I will probably also read the 3rd book in the Lord John Grey series by Diana Gabaldon.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 28, 2014

      Thanks! I finished the Ondaatje book and it really wasn’t my cup of tea. I’m still trying to figure out what it was about. I just started Divergent and that’s much more fun. 🙂

      I keep seeing Diana Gabaldon mentioned all over the place. I should probably try one of her books.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    January 25, 2014

    I like to mix up my books most of the time. If I read a few heavy ones in a row, I’m ready for something lighter, etc. Only change your name if you’re not happy with the one you have!

    For all the Canadian books I am trying to read, I still have never read anything by Ondaatje. I have heard some say his books are wonderful and some say they are boring. I will have to find out for myself soon. I’ll be interested to hear what you have to say about it when you’re done!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 28, 2014

      I like my blog name, but I feel like any reviews outside the classics would be cluttering up things. I am thinking about maybe having a companion site for non-classic reviews.

      The Ondaatje book wasn’t boring, but it didn’t captivate me in any way. It received a lot of 5-star reviews and praise about being so poetic and spellbinding, but I just wasn’t feeling it. I pushed myself to finish it, so I could read something else.

      Like

  3. DoingDewey
    January 28, 2014

    I really liked Bossypants and have enjoyed a number of similar books lately, so I’ll be checking out the books on that list too 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 28, 2014

      Would love to hear about any books you read! Do they count towards your non-fiction challenge?

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

