ebookclassics

Covers on the Silver Screen Read-a-Long – Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent

* * *

In February, I’ll be joining the Covers on the Silver Screen Read-a-Long of Divergent hosted by Book-alicious Mama to coincide with the movie adaptation release in March. Written by Veronica Roth, Divergent is the first book in the wildly popular Divergent trilogy. The story takes place in a Chicago of the future where humans have been divided into factions based on personality types and interact, or don’t interact, based on that faction. When the youth of the city turn sixteen, each must take an aptitude test to determine which faction they are best suited for continuing into adulthood. It is this test that reveals to Beatrice Prior (Tris) a secret about herself and forces her to make one of the toughest decisions of her life.

I couldn’t help reading the book as soon I got my hands on it and I’m eating up the pages so fast I’ll probably finish the book before February even gets started. I haven’t read The Hunger Games, so I don’t have anything to compare it to, but so far Divergent has a great mix of action and character drama. I like it!

Have you read Divergent? What did you think?

* * *

Warning: sizzling hot trailer up ahead!

7 comments on “Covers on the Silver Screen Read-a-Long – Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. femmefatale1212
    February 1, 2014

    I was the same way! Once i picked the series up I couldn’t put it down. I ended up finishing them in a week 🙂 Such a good read.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 2, 2014

      Now I know why everyone is so crazy for this series. I will probably read the next book as soon I finish this one. Are you planning to see the movie?

      Like

      • femmefatale1212
        February 2, 2014

        The books are such a good read…Yes, I will definitely be going to see the movie. I just hope they don’t change anything from the plot of the books like they sometimes do for the movies. The books are always better in my opinion! There is so much more detail in the novels! How about you; will you be going to see the movie?!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          February 3, 2014

          I think you are right, books are usually better than the movies, but I still think Divergent will be very entertaining. Plus it’s got a great cast. I just ordered Insurgent and I can’t wait to see what comes next. What did you think of Insurgent? Is it just as good as Divergent?

          Like

          • femmefatale1212
            February 4, 2014

            They did pick a pretty good cast for the movie. I can’t wait to see how they portray the characters in the books! You will love Insurgent just as much as you did Divergent. As the story plays out it goes into deeper detail of whats going on within the society and whatnot. You will have to let me know what you think of it when you finish.

            Like

  2. Naomi
    February 2, 2014

    I read this book over Christmas to keep up with my daughter. I liked it, but because of my own agenda I haven’t read the other two yet. My daughter and I were just talking yesterday about seeing the movie when it comes out, but I was worried she might not be old enough for it, and this trailer isn’t a good sign. She’s only 12. What does anyone else think?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 3, 2014

      The movie will probably get a PG rating. Are you worried about the violence? I’m sure your daughter is quite mature and if she handled the content in the book without any issue, she may be okay with the movie too. Especially if you are accompanying here and discuss anything that comes up.

      I just ordered Insurgent, so we will see if the second book holds up to the first.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

