ebookclassics

Madame Bovary Read-along – Master Post

MBShoes

Welcome to the Master Post for the Madame Bovary Read-along! As the 1856 debut novel by French author, Gustave Flaubert, Madame Bovary is the story of Emma Bovary, a bored doctor’s wife looking for romantic excitement only to face the devastating consequences.

Please join Juliana at Cedar Station and C.J. at ebookclassics for this read-along April 1-30, 2014.

Step One:  Sign-up by commenting below or linking to your blog post using the widget.  (NOTE: Widget will be available on April 1st)

Step Two: Grab the button below and post it to your blog.

MBDress

Step Three: Make a note of our posting schedule.

Every week either Juliana or C.J. will host a check-in post with thoughts and discussion questions. Please note the posting schedule below.

Part One – April 10, 2014

Part Two – April 20, 2014

Part Three – April 30, 2014

Step Four: Twitter Users –  Don’t forget to use the hashtag #MadameBovary2014 throughout this event to help other participants find your posts and for informal chats about the book.

Step Five: Please visit the blogs of your fellow read-along participants and say hello (this post will be sticky and the list will be regularly updated):

Cedar Station
Honey, I’m Reading!
Exploring Classics
Only You
Heaven Ali
Consumed By Ink
The World According to Laura
She Reads Novels
Fleur In Her World
Laura Gómez Mera
Classical Carousel
Ravens and Writing Desks
The Dead Writers Society
My Book Strings
The True Book Addict
Plethora of Books
Must Read Faster
Averydisorientedreader
Reading In Bed
Lavish Bookshelf
This Is Me Trying To Be A Writer
Yasmine Rose’s Book Blog

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to give us a shout. Thank you for joining us for the Madame Bovary Read-along!

68 comments on “Madame Bovary Read-along – Master Post

  1. Fariba
    February 24, 2014

    I am glad that you’re hosting this read-along. Madame Bovary is on my Classics Club book list. I will personally read it in French 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2014

      Thank you for joining us! Ooh, I envy your ability to read the novel in the language it was written.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Madame Bovary Read-along: April 1-30, 2014 | Cedar Station

  3. Cecilia
    February 24, 2014

    Ooh, this is perfect! Madame Bovary is high up on my TR list and all I’ve needed is something like this to get me started! I’m so happy that you’re not doing this until April since, as you know, I’ve got The Grapes of Wrath (and 3 other books) to read in March 😉 Just responding quickly for now but I’ll check back again later to read through your instructions more carefully. I’m looking forward to it!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2014

      Thanks! Since The Grapes of Wrath didn’t work out for me, I’m so thrilled we will be able to read Madame Bovary together.

      Like

  4. heavenali
    February 24, 2014

    Oooh I read this year’s ago and I think I would really like to join in with this.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2014

      It would be such a pleasure to read Madame Bovary with you. I would be very interested to hear your thoughts after reading it again.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Madame Bovary Read-Along | Exploring Classics

  6. Naomi
    February 25, 2014

    If I can get my hands on this, count me in! It will be my first read-along, so I hope I will be able to figure out how it works!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2014

      It would be so nice to read Madame Bovary with you. All you have to do is read the book, blog and share your thoughts with us.

      Like

  7. Heather
    February 25, 2014

    I love the button and the banner for the readalong. They’re great!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2014

      Juliana deserves all the credit, as she’s much more creative! I agree, the button and banner look awesome.

      Like

  8. lauraj684
    February 25, 2014

    I have been meaning to read something besides English in the native language. I shall work really hard on my French in the next month and hopefully be ready!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2014

      I’m sure you will do great. No matter what happens, we would pleased to have you join us.

      Like

  9. Laura Gómez Mera
    February 25, 2014

    I don’t have my own blog, can I still join???

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2014

      Absolutely! You can always comment on our blogs throughout the event.

      Like

  10. Helen
    February 25, 2014

    I would love to join in with this. I was planning to read Madame Bovary soon anyway, so this readalong would be perfect for me!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 26, 2014

      Hmm, it seems like a good time for everyone to read this book. It would be so much to have you join us!

      Like

  11. Fleur in her World
    February 26, 2014

    I’ve been meaning to re-read Madame Bovary and my copy is already sitting on my bedside table, so I’d love to join.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 26, 2014

      It would be a pleasure to have you join us and I would love to hear your thoughts after re-reading the book.

      Like

  12. Oh, this is so tempting! I’ll see how my other read-alongs are going near mid-month and then decide, although with your lovely banner and button, how could I refuse? 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 3, 2014

      Juliana deserves all the credit for the beautiful banner and button. It would be so much fun to read another classic book with you! I hope it works out.

      Like

  13. Cedar Station
    March 3, 2014

    Holy cow, I had not realized how many people responded to this! This is going to be a fun one. 🙂

    Also, the banner and button feature artwork from Janet Hill. She does beautiful oil paintings, and has them up for sale on her etsy shop, if anyone is interested: http://www.etsy.com/shop/janethillstudio

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 4, 2014

      Everyone loves your banner and button! You did a fantastic job. The artwork is really beautiful. Thanks for introducing me to this artist!

      Like

  14. Carolyn O
    March 4, 2014

    This looks so fun! I have to mull over — Madame Bovary isn’t on my CC list and I’m kind of behind on it, and April is National Poetry Month, so I’d like to do something for that . . . but so tempting!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 4, 2014

      I completely understand because I’ve had to say no to some interesting books and events because of my CC list too. But we would love to have you join us if you can!

      Like

  15. Pingback: Duolingo and Other Goals – An Update | The World According To Laura

    • ebookclassics
      March 20, 2014

      So happy to have you join us! I admire that you are planning to read the book in French (also on the exercise bike? 🙂 ). I don’t know if you noticed her comments, but Fariba at Exploring Classics is also planning to read Madame Bovary in French.

      Like

  16. Sophia
    March 18, 2014

    Count me in! I’m super excited!
    I’ll stop by at the library later this week to pick up a copy.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 20, 2014

      A pleasure to have you join us! You just reminded me that I should probably download a copy of the book soon.

      Like

  17. Christine
    March 19, 2014

    This looks like a lot of fun! Cleo & I are in the same classics group on GR, & we are doing a group read of this one over there, as well!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 20, 2014

      Hmm, maybe spring is the right time to read this book. What is the name of the GR group? It would be interesting to read to read the group’s comments.

      Like

      • Christine
        March 20, 2014

        The name of the group is the dead writers society (which is also the name of my blog). Our group home is here: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/80268 but we are a private group, so you won’t be able to see much. If you are interested in joining, mention this read along.

        It’s a lot of fun. We read genre fiction as well as classics. The only requirement is that the author be deceased. A side benefit – no annoying author self-promotion. 🙂

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          March 20, 2014

          Thanks so much! Not sure why it didn’t occur to me it would the same name as your blog. I will definitely sign-up at some point.

          Like

        • Cleo @ Classical Carousel
          March 26, 2014

          Hi, Christine! **** waves ****

          Like

        • Plethora
          March 27, 2014

          Me too, I surf around DWS (dead writers society) and will be joining this read along.

          Here is my opening post.

          Love the banners!

          Like

  18. My Book Strings
    March 22, 2014

    I just read your comment on The Classics Club event call. Judging by how many people have responded here, it should be a lively read-along. Count me in! Thank you.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 23, 2014

      Welcome! It’s so nice to have you join us. Juliana and I really do hope to have a very interactive event.

      Like

  19. thetruebookaddict
    March 27, 2014

    I’m in! Hope I can keep up. I have this on my Classics Club list and have been wanting to read it. Thanks for hosting! http://www.truebookaddict.com/2014/03/spring-events-aboundbloggiesta-and-once.html

    Like

  20. Melissa Caldwell
    March 29, 2014

    Is it too late to join up?

    Like

  21. lauratfrey
    March 31, 2014

    Oo I’m about to finish a book tonight, I could start!! Convince me! Are there some good sexy times in this book, kind seems like it??

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 31, 2014

      I started the book early and there is definitely some Desperate Housewife potential. Apparently, there was big fuss when the book was published and it considered quite scandalous. Flaubert even went on trial for obscenity.

      Like

  22. Pingback: Madame Bovary Read Along | averydisorientedreader

  23. jerikavonalexandra
    March 31, 2014

    Hello,

    Very late notice. Hope it’s ok. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 31, 2014

      You’re not late at all! We would love to have you read the book with us.

      Like

  24. Hello! I would like to join your read-along. I have posted a read-along information post over at http://www.lavishbookshelf.com/2014/03/book-read-along-challege-madame-bovary.html

    Like

  25. Pingback: Madame Bovary Read-along – Starts now! | ebookclassics

  26. Pingback: In my bed: March 2014 | Reading in Bed

  27. Pingback: Read-Along: Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert | My Book Strings

  28. Pingback: Welcome to the Madame Bovary Read-a-long! | Cedar Station

  29. Pingback: ‘Madame Bovary’ Read-Along! | Yasmine Rose's Book Blog

  30. yasmine rose
    April 1, 2014

    I am a bit late with this but I would love to join in. I read Madame Bovary a couple of years ago and have been meaning to re-read it for a while! Here is my introductory link to my blog:
    http://ymulholland.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/madame-bovary-read-along/

    Like

  31. Ramona Lee
    April 2, 2014

    I don’t feel so late! I just read about this Read-Along today. I picked up Madam Bovary today at the library and I’m ready to go 😀

    My first entry is found here: http://thisismetryingtobeawriter.blogspot.ca/2014/04/trying-something-new.html

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2014

      So happy you could join us! I’m going to add your post to the link so others can read it.

      Like

  32. Pingback: Madame Bovary Readalong « Only You

  33. Pingback: Madame Bovary (Part 1) by Gustave Flaubert | Consumed by Ink

  34. Pingback: ‘Madame Bovary’ by Gustave Flaubert Read Along: Part I | Yasmine Rose's Book Blog

  35. Pingback: Madame Bovary (Part 3) by Gustave Flaubert | Consumed by Ink

  36. Pingback: ‘Madame Bovary’ by Gustave Flaubert Read Along: Part I | Yasmine Rose Reads Books

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

