ebookclassics

King’s March

kingsmarch-button

Rory and Wendy are hosting a fantastic event called King’s March to celebrate all things Stephen King. Since one of my goals in 2014 is to reacquaint myself with the Master of Horror and attempt to catch up on his mammoth catalogue of writing, this event is perfect! Here are some fast facts about me and Steve:

1.  I saw Stephen King before I read him. Firestarter was the first movie adaptation I saw as a kid and it’s still probably my favourite today. Drew Barrymore is so amazing in this movie.

2.  The first Stephen King book I read was Carrie when I was ten years old.

3.  I tried reading Peter Straub’s work because of his relationship with Stephen King, but I couldn’t get into his books. Stephen and Peter co-wrote The Talisman and I think I tried to read it, but have no recollection of the story.

4.   After a few years of not reading his books, I rediscovered Stephen King as a preteen when someone gave me a copy of It at a sleepover. I started reading right away and couldn’t put the book down (guess I’m a lousy sleepover guest). I’m not scared of clowns, but I had nightmares all night. It is probably my favourite book.

5.  I used to say Stephen King was my favourite writer, but I’m so out of touch with his work now.

The first book I’m going to read is Joyland (2013) which is about a college student who goes to work at a carnival for the summer and the ghost of a murdered girl who haunts one of the rides. Spooky!

What are you reading or watching for King’s March?

9 comments on “King’s March

  1. Naomi
    March 6, 2014

    The most recent King novel I’ve read is 11/22/63 (I think that’s it), which isn’t even scary. I recommend it, though, especially to anyone who wants to read King but doesn’t like to be scared. I don’t read a lot of horror, but I don’t really have a reason for it. I thought it would be fun to read one for this event, but I haven’t gotten to it yet, so we’ll see. Do you know of a short one?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 7, 2014

      Some of his books are definitely more thrilling than horror stories. I asked about short books on Twitter since I didn’t want to take on a chunkster. Some of the suggestions I received are his old school books like Carrie, Misery, Night Shift or you could try a novella or some of his short story collections like Six Stories. I would love to hear what you decide.

      Like

  2. Priya
    March 16, 2014

    I wasn’t scared of clowns till I read IT – now I most definitely am. I mean Pennywise? – ugh! Wait, you read Carrie when you were ten? I wish I’d discovered King sooner, the rate at which he writes books, by the time I’m done reading all the old ones, he’s published another one. I read Joyland last year, though; hope you like it. Like most of his other books, it is just so… unexpected. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 16, 2014

      Yes, I started a little early with Stephen King, so I probably didn’t fully understand what was going on. I have lots of catching up to do too. It really is amazing how much he has written, but I do find some of them are hit or miss. I’m really enjoying Joyland and I think it’s a really good example of what an excellent storyteller Stephen King is and how he doesn’t need to rely on the scary stuff.

      Like

  3. I think most people started reading SK at an inappropriately young age 😀 I know I did, too!

    Right now I’m reading Insomnia, and boy is it LONG! My goal is to finish today. I have less than 30% left, but that could be like 400 pages knowing King! (Okay, that’s an exaggeration but it might be more like 200ish).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 16, 2014

      I remember seeing Stand By Me as a kid (who took me to these movies?) and then I immediately read the short story afterwards. Since many of Stephen King’s characters are kids, I think that made it easy for us to relate to his stories even though we were probably way too young.

      Does it look like you’re going to meet your goal today with Insomnia? 200 pages is still a lot of reading. As much as I want to catch up on some of the big books, I knew I probably couldn’t take on a chunkster for this event. I think The Stand would be the big one I want to tackle. Good luck!

      Like

      • I finished Insomnia! It may not have been 200 pages, but it was like 20% so I assume 200ish would be pretty accurate. I didn’t read anything else after that, for sure! 😀

        Like

  4. Pingback: Top 5 Stephen King Appearances | Honey, I'm Reading!

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

