ebookclassics

A Tale of Two Cities Read-Along – Introduction

dickens

* * *

Between April 21 – May 19, I’m reading A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens with Laura from Reading In Bed. Dickens is fairly new to me, as I’ve only read Great Expectations. I think Dickens is a fascinating fellow, as everything I read about him suggests he was: (a) eccentric; (b) intelligent; (c) a party animal, and (d) a funny guy.

As for A Tale of Two Cities, I dived into the book with no idea of the plot or any characters. But I’m already intrigued by the banker talking to and seeing ghosts in his dreams. Apparently when Dickens writes in Book One, “Husky chips of potato, fried with some reluctant drops of oil…” it is the first known reference to potato chips.

* * *

11 comments on “A Tale of Two Cities Read-Along – Introduction

  1. Sophia
    April 26, 2014

    Oh, I’d love to, but I did a Tale of Two Cities readalong back in December. I’ll still stop by for your updates though! Have fun!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2014

      Thanks so much! Did you like the book? I’m sure we’ll still have lots to chat about Madame Bovary.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    April 26, 2014

    From what I’ve read of Dickens so far (only 2 books- this will be my third), I have loved his writing. He’s obviously both intelligent and funny. He’s one guy (of many) I’d like to learn more about. I can’t wait to see The Invisible Woman.

    Why don’t I remember reading the potato chip line? It’s not like me to not notice when a writer is describing food. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2014

      Hmm, I think I really need to see The Invisible Woman too. I think the potato chip line is in the chapter where the wine spills on the street and Dickens describes in very great detail the poverty faced by people in that town.

      Like

  3. Cleo @ Classical Carousel
    April 26, 2014

    Like Sophia, I just read it last year and my daughter read it this year, and we discussed it, so I’m all Tale-of-Two-Cities-out. Sadly, I’m going to miss this one.

    Keep a lookout for Dickens’ themes of light and dark in this novel. They are all over the place, especially in the first part of the novel. I’ll be looking forward to your posts, C.J.!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2014

      Did you and your daughter like the book? Thanks for the tip about the light and dark theme. I’m already trying to think of how to apply this to what I’ve already read. Hmm, does this theme also apply to the two cities?

      Like

  4. lauratfrey
    April 26, 2014

    Hah, that song – no mention of TOTC though! And I think that guy really wishes he was Morrisey…

    I have heard conflicting things about Dickens. All the things you mention, but also that he was terrible to his wife and maybe also racist?

    I loved that, “reluctant drops of oil.”

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2014

      I’ve heard bad things about Dickens too like the racism, and that he was a drunk and would go out with Wilkie Collins to pick up women. But since he is the author we’re reading I thought it would be polite to put those facts in the all encompassing terms of “eccentric” and “party animal”. 🙂

      Like

  5. Piyush Chourasia
    April 26, 2014

    A Tale of Two Cities is my favourite Dickens thus far, hope you would like it too!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 1, 2014

      I get a little lost in Dickens’ wordiness, but overall I’m enjoying the book. Although, I keep feeling as if I’m reading the Count of Monte Cristo again.

      Like

  6. Pingback: A Tale of Two Cities Read-Along: Knitting for Dummies | Reading in Bed

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

