ebookclassics

Armchair BEA 2014 – Introduction

bea

Welcome! Is everyone as excited about Armchair BEA as I am? If you’re new to my blog, I’m C.J. and this is my second year participating in the conference. This year I’m also a member of the International Committee, so look out for my post on short stories this Wednesday and two-part post on book adaptations that were filmed in Canada that should be out this Thursday and Friday.

1. Describe your blog in just one sentence. ebookclassics is the home of my 100 classic book project, plus I review literary fiction and sometimes talk about bookish life. I have been blogging for over two years. You can find me on Twitter @ebookclassics and Google+ (although I have to get better about G+).

2. What genre do you read the most? In my first year, all I read and blogged about were classics. This year I seem to be reading mostly literary fiction.

3. What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year? Last year, I think my favourite book was The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle because I was watching Sherlock and Elementary at the same time.  This year, I think my favourite book so far has been The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.

4. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 3 books would you bring? 3 non-book items and why? Books: (1) The Bible because it’s the original classic book; (2) War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy because I’m still working my way through it; and (3) a book of jokes because I love to laugh. Non-book items: (1) my family; (2) lip balm because my lips are always dry; and (3) a blanket because I’m always cold.

5. What book would you love to see as a movie? The Orenda by Joseph Boyden because the story is so intense and a huge part of Canadian history and identity.

6. What is one of your favourite books as a movie? I love all of the Sherlock Holmes adaptations (with Cumberbatch/Martin, Downey Jr./Law, Miller/Liu), but Sense and Sensibility with Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet is still probably my overall favourite adaptation.

Enjoy the conference and hope to chat books with your soon!

33 comments on “Armchair BEA 2014 – Introduction

  1. Lisa LaVergne-Pottgen
    May 26, 2014

    I just need to say that I love that you say your blog started with the classics. I love the classics, and I am a huge fan of Dickens, so I always love seeing other people who really enjoy the classics as well.

    Lisa @Just Another Rabid Reader

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      What is your favourite Dickens book or character? I recently read A Tale of Two Cities and while I didn’t enjoy it as much as Great Expectations, the ending really made thing sup for me.

      Like

      • Lisa LaVergne-Pottgen
        May 27, 2014

        Honestly? My favorite is one that most people say they didn’t care for. I love David Copperfield. Maybe because it was my first Dickens, maybe because my childhood sucked, but for some reason I really really connected with the book and the character.

        Like

  2. Stephanies
    May 26, 2014

    I am glad that I found you. While I read a lot of different genres and am happy doing so, I feel the need for more literary and classic blogs. I look forward to your posts.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      Thanks so much! I read nothing but classics for almost a whole straight year and that was too much of one thing. I’ve enjoyed much more mixing things up a bit and think I will try more YA and non-fiction at some point.

      Like

  3. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    May 26, 2014

    I like the unusual format of your blog! I love cover images and how you linked them on your review pages is really cool. I also just joined the Classics Club in an effort to read more classics. Nice to “meet” you!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      So nice to meet you too! I think you’ll love the Classics Club because it’s such a welcoming community. Are you reading any classics right now?

      Like

  4. Naomi
    May 26, 2014

    I’m excited to see what this Armchair BEA is all about!
    I also love that version of Sense and Sensibility so much!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      I’m so glad you decided to participate! I really enjoy meeting new bloggers and seeing what other people are doing on their blogs.

      Like

  5. Hey there. Not sure if I have told you this yet, but I love the concept of your blog. Love. it. Also, think I need to check if Elementary is on Netflix so I can start watching. I am a long, long time fan of the Sherlock Holmes books, been reading them since I was around 12. Enjoy you BEA time.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      Thank you so much! I’m a little behind in Elementary, but hope to catch up at some point. Unfortunately, I don’t think it’s on Netflix. I think Jonny Miller makes a great Sherlock Holmes and his chemisty with Lucy Liu works. Have you watched Sherlock or any of the Guy Ritchie movies?

      Like

  6. Athira
    May 26, 2014

    I loved the Fikry book too! I like that you are taking War and Peace to the island. I don’t know if I could take that one, but maybe that’s the only way I will read it, so I should.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      I have a feeling that if I did take War and Peace to a desert island I would regret it and say to myself, Why didn’t I bring Jane Austen? 🙂 But I agree it would be a good way of actually reading such a long book. Fikry was such a good book. I’ve read a few books since then and it’s still a highlight for me. What other books have you liked this year?

      Like

      • Athira
        May 27, 2014

        I guess we’ll never be happy with whichever book we take with us. I’m sure I’ll be pining for other books very soon. I should have just said Kindle – that way, I can take all the books I own with me!

        Right now, I’m listening to The Martian, which I’m loving – have you read it? I also loved Frangipani and The Snowman.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          May 28, 2014

          Agreed! Probably the best solution is to take an ereader and have lots of books. I haven’t read The Martian, but I’ve read so many blogger reviews that said it was a good book. Some mentioned that it can get quite technical. Did you know they are planning a movie now?

          Like

          • Athira
            May 28, 2014

            Oh really? That would be wonderful. All the time I was listening to the book, I was watching a sort of movie in my head too. It is definitely a good one for the screen.

            Like

  7. AH@badassbookreviews
    May 26, 2014

    So cool that you’re reading the Chris Hadfield book. I enjoyed watching his youtubes when he was on the space station. I like the idea of The Classics Club. One day, I’ll get caught up on those.

    Like

  8. Jorie
    May 26, 2014

    Hallo, again!

    Our paths diverged away from each other last year, but I was most delighted seeing your active participation in blogosphere & twitterverse events! I have seen your blog’s name attached to several of the past few months & I was silently cheering for you! Plus, how you manage to curate two blogs at once is a tip of the hat from me! You’ve grown as a blogger and I could not be happier!

    I am dropping by tonight as I am a cheerREADER on Team4 of #ArmChairBEA! Our paths were meant to cross again, and I am thankful they have through this event! I still need to get to reading Sherlock, and I was most disappointed by Series 3 of Sherlock from the BBC. I just did not love it as much as Series 1 & 2. 😦 What were your thoughts!? I mean for me they sort of overkilled Sherlock’s return if you ask me!

    I am going to be reading War & Peace in June! I was meant to read it from Feb-June with #LitChat, but life interfered! I blessedly have a local library who has a special extended library of classics where we do not have due dates! I’ve had the book for only a month, but I cannot wait to absorb myself into a classic I have heard murmurs of for most of my life! Do you find it hard to read OR just need more time to get into the setting & story without distractions!? I do wonder how I will take to it myself!

    Enjoy the #ArmChairBEA!

    Jorie’s #ArmChairBEA Intro

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      I’m so happy our paths have crossed again. I thought I was following your blog, but don’t see it in my feed, so I will change that today. I have to agree that Series 3 of Sherlock as very disappointing. I think they rushed it just to capitalize on its popularity. Hopefully the next series will be better. It’s so funny that we will be reading W&P at the same time. We will have to trade notes!

      Like

  9. jnbarber13
    May 26, 2014

    Hi C.J. Nice to meet you! I love that you blog is mostly dedicated to classics and literary fiction. I graduated with an English major, so I definitely appreciate those books. I’m also a big fan of the BBC Sherlock, but I haven’t really given Elementary a chance.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      Hi there! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. What are some of your favourite classics? I was critical of Elementary at first because of its American mystery-drama style, but the acting is very good and some of the storylines are interesting.

      Like

  10. Mmmmmmm, Cumberbatch. Just stopping by to say hello from #ArmchairBEA!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      Thanks for stopping by to say hello. Are you enjoying ArmchairBEA? Thought your Twitter profile was pretty funny. 🙂

      Like

  11. writereads
    May 27, 2014

    Have been looking into the Armchair BEA, it looks so fantastic, I just don’t know that I have time for it right now. Really looking forward to seeing all your ABEA posts!! -Tania

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      Thanks so much! It does take a bit of a time commitment to participate. I haven’t even had the chance to look at the link-up lists on the Armchair BEA website.

      Like

      • writereads
        May 27, 2014

        The list looks daunting. Also, another reason I’m glad you joined is that you put your name back up on your blog. I’m a terrible person and had forgotten it 😦 -Tania

        Like

  12. DoingDewey
    May 27, 2014

    I’ve also moved from my original focus, non-fiction, toward a lot more literary fiction and I loved The Storied Life. Great book! I hope you’re enjoying ABEA so far 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      Your blog is awesome! I was doing a little thinking and I think we met at the last Armchair BEA… 🙂

      Like

  13. priscilla
    May 27, 2014

    C.J. I am so happy to have found your blog through ABEA! I look forward to following your reviews.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 27, 2014

      I’m so glad we met too! I look forward to reading more of your posts. Again, thank you for the short story recommendations. I hope to read more starting this summer.

      Like

  14. WordsAndPeace
    May 28, 2014

    Nice to meet you. I like your reviews and what you review. just added you to my bloglovin and loooong list of blogs I follow: http://wordsandpeace.com/links/

    Like

  15. fredamans
    May 29, 2014

    I need that Gabrielle Zevin book in my life, and only since the start of ABEA! Great to meet you.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

