ebookclassics

Blogger Diaries #3

Hello friends! I don’t know what happened, but life is suddenly busier than usual and I haven’t had time to write reviews or tweet (I blame work). But lots is happening book-wise.

Books Finished
finished

Books in the Queue
next

Armchair BEA
I volunteered for this year’s conference and ended up writing a huge post about book adaptations that were filmed in Canada, as well as a last minute post about reading short stories. But this is when things started to get busy and I didn’t participate in the daily topics or Twitter chats like I planned. However, I did get to know some new-to-me bloggers which was great.

PEI

Diana Gabaldon
I scored free tickets to see Diana Gabaldon on June 20th. I was planning to also watch the new Outlander adaptation which premieres on August 9th, so now I think reading Outlander is a must.

diana

The Estella Project, Season 2
I had no intention of signing up for yet another reading challenge, but this challenge looked so easy and I was already planning to read some of the books on the list (Outlander, for example). For the Estella Project, Season 2, you simply have to read 1-3 books on their summer reading list between now and September and link-up a review. As a bonus, you could win a book or ecard of up to $20 in value.

estella

TLC Book Tours
Since I started this blog, I noticed that other bloggers often participate in book tours, so I signed up with TLC to see if it would be something I enjoyed. Even though I agreed to read Lemonade Revealed in March, I didn’t actually get a copy of the book until four days before my review was supposed to be posted! Of course, TLC gave me an extension, but I managed to read and review the book (it’s short) in a week.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
Still chipping away at this Russian classic and realize it might take me longer than the summer to get through this book. Right now Prince Andrew Bolkonski has joined the war against France led by his man-crush, Napoleon Bonaparte. The battleground is Austria, the Russians have lost some strategic battles and Prince Andrew fears the army is starting to unravel.

Looking Ahead
I don’t know about you, but I’m always monitoring what new books are coming down the pipeline. I loved reading posts by bloggers who attended BEA in New York about books that were promoted at the conference. Some of the books that are now on my radar are The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell, The Way Inn by Will Wiles, Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay, Sweetness #9 by Stephen Eirik Clark, Painted Horses by Malcolm Brooks and Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

What are you reading? What summer reads do you have planned?

17 comments on “Blogger Diaries #3

  1. Cathy746books
    June 6, 2014

    I’m doing the Estella Project too (as part of my 20 Books of Summer challenge!). The only two books that are in the 746 are Let The Right One In and Geek Love, so that’s what I’m reading. What have you chosen?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2014

      Ooh, I did consider Geek Love and Let The Right One In (Swedish vampire fiction sounds pretty cool). Which one will you read first? I will probably read Outlander, The Night Circus and Ready Player One. I might listen to the RPO audiobook because a few bloggers gave it the thumbs up and it’s narrated by Wil Wheaton (I’m a bit of a Trekkie).

      Like

      • Cathy746books
        June 6, 2014

        I’ve read and loved Ready Player One, but I would love to hear Wil Wheaton read it, he’s supposed to be excellent!

        Like

  2. Naomi
    June 6, 2014

    I can’t wait to hear what you thought of those three books you’ve finished! And, I’m not surprised you haven’t had time for blogging lately. You have a few things on the go!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2014

      I enjoyed all three books for different reasons. I hope to squeeze in some time to write a review today …

      Like

  3. My Book Strings
    June 6, 2014

    You can’t go wrong with Outlander and The Night Circus. I borrowed The Night Circus from the library, and when I was done, I HAD to buy the beautiful hardcover edition for my bookshelf. I think I will do the Estella Project as well, with two books that are also on my Classics Club list.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2014

      If the books are on your list, why not? I’ve heard so many good things about the books I chose, it was pretty easy picking what I want to read. What did you like the most about The Night Circus?

      Like

      • My Book Strings
        June 6, 2014

        I loved the prose; it is very descriptive and rich. And Morgenstern’s imagination is amazing.

        Like

  4. Cecilia
    June 6, 2014

    You do sound busy! I’ve been curious about The Enchanted and will be interested in reading your thoughts on it if you ever end up posting about it. I ALMOST went to BEA but changed my mind because I am overwhelmed with the books I already have in my house 😉 Hope your work eases up a bit before long!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 7, 2014

      I would really love to go to BEA next year, but not sure how to make it work with my family. There is a Canadian version in November, so that may have to be my alternative.

      The Enchanted was not what I originally expected. Not to give too much away, but it is a dark story. There were descriptions of neglect and violence towards children that upset me, although they were not gratuitous and I believe the author’s main intention was to demonstrate the cycles of violence that occur in life. It was the compelling story that kept me going until the end. I have lots of mixed feelings about the book because it was well-written and thought-provoking, but contained subjects I have strong feelings about. Sorry, this is long-winded and I hope it makes sense.

      Like

  5. Athira
    June 6, 2014

    I’ve been eyeing the Estella project but haven’t yet made the jump. I do like the books in the list though. I may try reading a single big book during the summer instead.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 7, 2014

      I know you were thinking about working on a series, but one big fat chunkster would be fun too. Do you have ideas of what that might be?

      Like

      • Athira
        June 8, 2014

        Most probably, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. Most everyone seems to recommend it strongly, so I’m looking forward to reading it!

        Like

  6. Priya
    June 20, 2014

    I just started reading War and Peace; I guess seventy pages counts are still ‘just seventy’ for for this monster. After so many bloggers confessed they abandoned it, I was kind of scared, but now I’m surprised at how readable it is. Would love to hear your thoughts on it!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 21, 2014

      I always laugh when I read 60-70 pages and my ereader says I only read 1% of the book. It really is amazing how readable W&P is once you get into the story. I thought it dragged on a bit much in the beginning with the whole party scene. What do you think?

      Like

  7. janceewright
    June 24, 2014

    I love the Outlander series. I went through an Outlander phase years ago in high school, so I think I’ve missed the few newest ones. The series is on my TBR, though.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 25, 2014

      I can’t believe how many book there are in the series. I haven’t finished Outlander yet, but it was interesting to hear Diana Gabaldon talk about how she started writing the book and got published.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

