ebookclassics

An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

hadfield

Click to visit Chris Hadfield’s website.

Much time has passed, and my heart and head have moved onto other books, so the next few reviews I post will be quick and dirty.

The Story
The first Canadian to walk in space, Chris Hadfield, looks back at an impressive career that spans over thirty years. His career achievements include being a top test pilot in the U.S. Air Force and U.S. Navy, an astronaut for both the Canadian Space Agency and NASA, as well as numerous executive positions on Earth and in space!

The Good
Chris Hadfield’s warm and funny personality permeates this pretension-free memoir. I enjoyed reading about his career and his experiences as an astronaut, as well as the development of space programs in Canada, the U.S. and Russia.

The Bad
In keeping with the theme or nugget of advice he wants to highlight in each chapter, Chris jumps back and forth in time quite a bit which can be confusing.

Conclusion
I salute you, Colonel Hadfield for sharing your memories and giving us all a taste of what it’s really like to be an astronaut. I’m not a kid anymore, but I got stars in my eyes reading your book.

8 comments on “An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

  1. Naomi
    June 12, 2014

    I love that he made all those videos. I’m sure I feel just as amazed by them as kids do! No gravity seems like magic!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 12, 2014

      I would like to try sleeping in a floating bed. I think that would be really cool. The way he describes coming back to Earth and having his body readjust to gravity sounds pretty awful, though.

      Like

      • Naomi
        June 12, 2014

        Ugh. I’m pretty happy to be down here on earth, I think.

        Like

  2. writereads
    June 12, 2014

    I might have to give this a read! Thanks for the review. You might want to read Terry Fallis’ Up and Down. It made me feel all child-like about space as well 🙂 -Tania

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 13, 2014

      Thanks for the suggestion! I think I need to dedicate a whole month to read Terry Fallis’ books.

      Like

  3. DoingDewey
    June 15, 2014

    Ooh, nice new blog layout! I’m a bit behind on reading blog posts, so it’s possible it’s been like this for a while, but I’m just seeing it and I like it 🙂

    Like

  4. janceewright
    June 24, 2014

    This has been on my TBR so long that I had honestly forgotten about it. Maybe I should actually try to get around to it at some point! 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 25, 2014

      Apparently Chris Hadfield has a new book coming out in the Fall, so there may be two books to read soon! I enjoyed this book, but I was slow to get into it. Some of his advice has definitely stuck with me.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

