ebookclassics

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

rosie

Click to visit Graeme Simsion’s website.

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

THE STORY
Professor Don Tillman is probably one of the most excessively structured characters you will ever meet, living day-to-day by a rigid schedule for the maximum efficient use of his time. However, as intelligent as Don is, he is hopeless in social situations and unable to make friends or find love. His best friends, a fellow professor and psychologist in an open marriage, encourage Don’s search for a partner through his “Wife Project”, where potential mates complete a questionnaire and are eliminated when compared to Don’s strict parameters. This is when Don meets Rosie, a PHD student who is as fiery in personality as her red hair. She smokes, drinks, doesn’t cook or meet any of Don’s other criteria. Yet, Don finds himself on a first “date” with Rosie where she introduces Don to her quest to discover her biological father. As a geneticist, Don is intrigued by the challenge and offers to provide his assistance, meanwhile wrestling with the intriguing feelings that arise as he spends more and more time with the “imperfect” Rosie.

THE GOOD
The Rosie Project has been a hit and on the bestseller list forever with good reason. The book is upbeat, funny and has two engrossing plots, yet is not overly formulaic as a romantic comedy. I liked both main characters and particularly liked that Don’s fish-out-of-water scenarios were resolved in creatively humourous ways.

THE BAD
The Rosie Project is a cute book, but sometimes a little too cute and silly with Don acting like a cross between Data from Star Trek: The Next Generation (completely ignorant of acceptable human behaviour) and A.J. Fikry from The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry (irritable, blunt). However, his character has many layers to discover in the story and all this can be forgiven.

CONCLUSION
Overall, The Rosie Project is a romantic story about opposites attracting and finding love. Even though I wasn’t completely enchanted with the book, I was still cheering for Don and Rosie to get together. Since Graeme Simsion originally wrote the story as a screenplay, surely The Rosie Project will grace our screens in the next year or two with enthusiastic endorsements, such as “feel-good movie of the year” and “warms the cockles of your heart” (whatever cockles are supposed to be). Now we just have to wait and place bets on who will play the main characters.

3.5/5 Stars

10 comments on “The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

  1. Naomi
    June 18, 2014

    I thought this was a fun book to read. We need some fun ones every once in a while, and sometimes it’s hard to find good ones. I enjoyed reading all his thoughts- they made me chuckle.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 19, 2014

      Don made me laugh a lot too. I forget until I read a book like this that I should try to read balance my reading with lighter subjects. But I suspect I’m a little drawn to serious stories. 🙂

      Like

  2. Aw this sounds like such a sweet read! Maybe a bit predictable, but I am intrigued by this half-Data Don! 🙂 Great review, I hope to pick it up sometime!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 19, 2014

      It’s a really sweet and charming book. I think you would like it if you enjoy reading romantic comedies. I look forward to your thoughts if you do.

      Like

  3. My Book Strings
    June 18, 2014

    Like you, I wasn’t as enthralled with this book as other readers, but it was a fun book to read. It was a good “in-between” book.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 19, 2014

      In-between book is a very good way of putting it. I read The Rosie Project mostly at night when I get tired if I’m reading anything too serious or a dense subject.

      Like

  4. Cecilia
    June 19, 2014

    My friend had recommended this to me but I wasn’t sure about it. Your review is very helpful for getting a sense of the book. Like you too I tend to gravitate toward heavier stories. I like fun books like Where’d You Go Bernadette but I am on the fence about “cute,” ha ha. I kind of thought that about The Storied Life of AJ Fikry too.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 27, 2014

      I’ve heard such good things about Where’d You Go Bernadette. It sounds like the perfect book for summer and reading outside.

      Like

  5. Melinda
    June 27, 2014

    This one is still on my TBR list, I hope I will like it though

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 27, 2014

      I think this book is very popular because it has a lot to offer a wide audience. I found it funny, quirky and romantic. I look forward to hearing what you think about it.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

