ebookclassics

Bird Box by Josh Malerman

bird box

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

I read Bird Box in two days because I was completely caught up in the story. The book appealed to me because it was about a mother with children in a life-threatening dystopian world.

THE STORY
Invisible creatures are causing people around the world to lose their minds and kill themselves or other people. When normal society starts sliding rapidly downhill, Malorie barely pays attention because she’s just discovered that she’s single and pregnant. Fast forward several years and Malorie is alone with two young children. She anxiously decides to leave the safety of their house and take the children to what she hopes will be a better life. They will have to go by boat on the river and they will have to be completely blindfolded for fear of the creatures. From here, the story switches between Malorie’s memories of living with six other survivors while she is pregnant and her river trip of terror with the children.

THE GOOD
I really enjoyed this book. Bird Box had me biting my nails and on the edge of my seat for the entire story because I felt like I was living the experience through the characters. The story is thick with tension, and the fear and confusion of the survivors. I thought Josh Malerman did a great job creating Malorie. She is two extremely different women mentally and emotionally in the book depending on the time period and I often forgot they were the same character.

THE BAD
I have nothing really bad to say about Bird Box. Some of scenes with the book’s didn’t quite work for me, but otherwise I have no complains.

CONCLUSION
Bird Box is not only a chilling story, I thought it was very well thought out and written by Josh Malerman. Even his acknowledgement page is entertaining! I felt the choices the survivors faced was realistic for people under pressure and living in fear. I was very pleased that the story has a hopeful ending. Part of me thinks I like these kind of stories because I can live vicariously through a worst-case scenario and come through to the end grateful for the safety and peace we enjoy in reality.

4/5 Stars

5 comments on “Bird Box by Josh Malerman

  1. Naomi
    June 21, 2014

    I’ve been seeing this one around. It sounds good! It sounds like the kind of book my daughter likes to read, too. Would it be okay for a 13 yo girl, or is it definitely adult?

    Like

  2. ebookclassics
    June 21, 2014

    Unfortunately, there are a few disturbing scenes. Overall, it’s not an overly gory or violent book, but it’s probably not appropriate for her.

    Like

  3. kmn04books
    June 23, 2014

    I won’t read your full review because I have a copy and don’t want to be spoiled but it’s great to hear that the story is captivating! Is it as scary as it sounds? I’m a bit of a wuss so I’m a little nervous about picking it up… haha

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 25, 2014

      Can’t wait to hear what you think of the book! It’s a scary story in the “I need to know what happens” way, with a few violent scenes. I kind of read those parts quickly. 🙂

      Like

      • kmn04books
        June 25, 2014

        Haha! I think I’ll have to read it all pretty quickly because I’m such a scaredy cat 😛

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

