ebookclassics

Blogger Diaries #4

july

OUTLANDER AND DIANA GABALDON EVENT
Believe or not, I’m still reading Outlander. As much as I love the story and characters, I’ve found it difficult to focus for the last few hundred pages, so I’m just taking my time.

I had the pleasure of seeing Diana Gabaldon speak in Toronto in June (they pronounced her name Gah-bal-doh-ne). Diana was gorgeous and poised, speaking with a slightly deep voice. She joked and smiled the whole time, utterly charming the room full of hundreds of fans. As someone who was new to the series, and with Claire and Jamie fresh in my mind, I found it fascinating to hear how she came to write Outlander. I also found it fascinating that so many fans had crushes on Jamie Fraser and wanted Diana to dish on him. One woman told the crowd she yelled at her husband during a fight, “Why aren’t you Jamie?” LOL!

Back in January, Carolyn at Rosemary and Reading Glasses wrote a post about  Jack Randall as a gay character in Outlander. Diana commented on her post to bring clarity to the discussion taking place. I couldn’t remember the exact details of the post, but thought it was so fun that Diana took the time to comment. I decided to ask her about it and at the microphone, I explained what occurred and asked Diana if she typically visits blogs or responds on social media to comments by fans. She gave a thoughtful response along the lines of she does enjoy interacting with fans on social media and discussing her books if she has the opportunity. I was so thrilled to be speaking to her, I just nodded  with a goofy grin and then sat down. Afterwards, my friend and I decided to skip the book signing because it would have taken all night.

AUSTEN IN AUGUST
I was so happy to learn that Jenna from Lost Generation Reader is taking over Austen in August. Adam at Roofbeam Reader was an amazing host when I participated last year, but has stepped back from his book blogging commitments. Would you like to sign-up too? This summer I plan to read the BIG ONE for the first time. That’s right, it’s finally time ebookclassics read Pride and Prejudice!

READING UPDATE
I recently finished reading Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage by Alice Munro and Mân by Kim Thuy. In addition to Outlander and War and Peace, I’m reading One Plus One by Jojo Moyes. I can’t say it’s really rocking my world like Me Before You.

HANNIBAL
In other news, I binge-watched sixteen episodes of Hannibal over five days and have a “killer” hangover. Nyuk nyuk nyuk.

What are you reading? I hope you’re enjoying summer.

23 comments on “Blogger Diaries #4

  1. janceewright
    July 17, 2014

    I love the Outlander series, but it’s been a while since I read it. I think I’ve missed a few since then, so I’m thinking it’s almost time for a reread. I must admit, I had a crush on Jamie too. For now, I’m reading Stephanie Kuehn’s latest YA novel, Complicit, and I am about to start East of Eden and The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 17, 2014

      Ha ha, I guess I see Jamie as this adorable puppy in the body of a very tall redhead. 🙂 I’ve always wanted to read East of Eden, so I look forward to your thoughts on that book, as well as A.J. Fikry. So far I think that was one of my favourite books this year.

      Like

  2. Cecilia
    July 17, 2014

    Wow, that is pretty wild how you, Carolyn and Diana connected in this way! I’m glad you got to see her in person.

    I’m excited to hear that you will be reading Austen in August! I have been meaning to because it’s been so many years. Maybe this will give me the incentive…

    I am trying to finish up And the Mountains Echoed and then I will start An Untamed State, which I first read about on Carolyn’s blog. It sounds like a compelling book.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 17, 2014

      Knowing that the event is in August, I usually save whatever Austen I planned to read for then. I always see Austen read-a-longs throughout the year, but never in time to join in or I’ve already overcommitted myself to other books. If you decide to join, what would you read?

      I really would like to read An Untamed State as well. I’ve heard so much about the book and Roxane Gay.

      Like

  3. I absolutely love Outlander – it’s such an emotional book for me! I wish I was able to see Diana Gabaldon at an event! I think I missed her when she was here a few months ago unfortunately. I hope you will really enjoy the book when you finish it! I suppose you are reading it so you can also watch the miniseries adaptation?

    I have One Plus One to read too, and I’m a little sad that it’s not as great as Me Before You for you (which I really loved too!) so I’ll dampen my expectations a little!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 17, 2014

      Oh, sorry! I don’t wish to dampen your expectations of the book. It’s an okay story so far, but I found Me Before You such a page turner. I really got caught up in the story and this book doesn’t have quite the same effect. Have you read The Girl You Left Behind?

      I’m really enjoying Outlander because it’s so richly detailed and the characters are loveable. I did decide to read the book because of series that is coming out. I can’t wait! Are you going to watch it?

      Like

  4. Carolyn O
    July 17, 2014

    Ha! That’s a great story — thanks for remembering that post! Next time you see DG, please tell her I say hi!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 18, 2014

      It was a great experience hearing Diana speak and gave me so much insight into Outlander. I was nervous getting up to ask her the question, but I’m glad I did too!

      Like

  5. citygirlscapes
    July 18, 2014

    So happy to hear that the Diana event was a good night out! Sounds like she is a very open person, easy to connect with. And good for you for getting up to ask a question, I’m always way too nervous to do that.

    Also, thanks for bringing Austen in August to my attention, what a great idea! Good luck with Pride and Prejudice, anxiously awaiting your review!

    cheers!
    -ashley

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 18, 2014

      Thanks Ashley! I was nervous and sweating like crazy waiting for my turn at the microphone, but I’m glad I did ask Diana because the question was burning in my brain.

      I can’t wait to get started on Pride and Prejudice. Although, I think I have way overcommitted myself to books and reading challenges this summer … oh well! 🙂

      Like

  6. Julie
    July 18, 2014

    Your voice didn’t even waver when you asked your question. And it was one of the more insightful, thought out questions of the evening. As for Jamie…keep reading the series…he matures a lot throughout the books. I think we all wish that our husbands could be a bit more like Jamie Fraser…lol!! As for it taking a bit to get through it, that happens in her books. Overall they are great, but some sections…well… There is one book where an afternoon takes up about a quarter of the book…most of the time I was thinking “will this day ever end”!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 22, 2014

      Thank you for coming with me to see Diana and convincing me to read the book! I finished the book yesterday — finally!

      Like

  7. Marianne
    July 19, 2014

    Oh! I hope you love Pride & Prejudice! 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 22, 2014

      I can’t wait and might start reading it early. Is it your favourite Austen novel?

      Like

      • Marianne
        July 22, 2014

        No. My favorite is Sense & Sensibility. 🙂

        Like

      • Marianne
        July 23, 2014

        No, my favorite is Sense & Sensibility. 🙂

        Like

        • Marianne
          July 24, 2014

          LOL. Sorry! I appear to have repeated myself. (Chuckling.)

          I got notification on my WordPress bar that you’d responded when another blogger responded to what I’d said elsewhere. I remember thinking the above but didn’t recall having already said it. I answered from the WordPress notification bar rather than here, or I’d have seen that I already said this the day before. A bit of WordPress deja-vous. 😛

          Like

          • ebookclassics
            July 24, 2014

            Ha ha, no worries! I thought it might be a situation where you clicked twice or clicked too fast. I’ll do that ALL the time.

            Like

  8. Naomi
    July 20, 2014

    I am impressed with your question-asking bravery at the Diana Gabaldon event! Sounds like a fun time. I am planning to read Man soon. I hope it was good! Have fun with Pride and Prejudice! It really is a good book.

    Like

  9. lauratfrey
    July 22, 2014

    How exciting to ask a question! My MIL just finished the latest book and loved it. I really want to start reading the series so we’ll have something to talk about 🙂

    You are reading W&P? I vaguely remember this now… I might start in August, there’s a booktuber readlong thing. Though I will not be vlogging. It doesn’t really work with my lifestyle (i.e. looking decent ever, having quiet space to record…)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 22, 2014

      Yes, I think I recall your mother liked books heavy on the romantic side. 🙂 I finished Outlander! It was really good, just a wee bit long. I’d be very interested in your thoughts if you decide to read it.

      I watched the video you tweeted for the W&P readlong and might sign-up or at least follow along. I’ve read about 21% of the book which is just a drop in the bucket and not sure if I could keep up with their schedule.

      I don’t think I could ever vlog. I would talk too fast and no amount of make-up could hide how tired I am. What booktubers do you recommend? I haven’t had much of chance to check any out.

      Like

  10. lauratfrey
    July 22, 2014

    I’ll probably do a post about booktube with my favs. I have a theory that very few booktubers have children 🙂 Like, WAY more skewed towards early/mid 20s women than book bloggers are… and that’s saying something haha.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

