ebookclassics

Delancey by Molly Wizenberg

delancey

Click to visit Molly Wizenberg’s blog, Orangette.

Delancey’s food of choice is pizza which is something close to my heart since we recently established Pizza Fridays in my household and ate some amazing pizza on our recent trip to the States. My husband and I are still debating over which state had the best pizza: New York or Pennsylvania. The loving descriptions and analysis of pizza and pizza-making in Delancey is so beautifully detailed, I wanted to cry. That’s how much I love pizza.

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

THE STORY
Molly’s husband, Brandon, has always dreamed big, but during their marriage it hasn’t been unusual for him to obsess over a project and then abandon it for another idea. When Brandon and a friend decide to open a pizza restaurant, Molly doesn’t sweat it. But when their friend drops out of the project and Brandon decides to forge ahead alone, she continues to encourage his dream, but secretly wishes he would give it up. With the help of a few dozen friends, lots of luck, guts and determination, Molly and Brandon open Delancey. It’s a crowning achievement for the couple … so why is Molly having an emotional meltdown?

THE GOOD
Delancey feels like you’re sitting in a cozy corner with a good friend and listening to her stories over wine or coffee. It’s a sweet and likeable tale about supporting a dream, but also trying to find where you fit into that dream once it comes true. Included in the book are some very simple, you-can-do-it-too recipes that sound delectable and I would love to try.

THE BAD
As the story progresses, Molly infers frequently to her secret wish that Brandon would abandon the project. I felt like these instances in the book were strategically placed, almost to create some drama and tension in the story.

CONCLUSION
Delancey is a charming story, as well as a fascinating look at the process of opening a restaurant. I found Molly Wizenberg’s writing personable and intimate. I haven’t read her celebrated food blog, Orangette, or her first book, A Homemade Life, but now I think I need to check them out.

3/5 Stars

8 comments on “Delancey by Molly Wizenberg

  1. Heather
    July 27, 2014

    New York will always have the best pizza. 😉

    Like

  2. Naomi
    July 27, 2014

    I love it when a book makes you feel like you’re talking to a friend. And, pizza too! This one sounds yummy! Now I want to go to NY just to try the pizza!

    Like

  3. emucoleman
    July 28, 2014

    I can’t wait to read this one. I read Wizenberg’s first book and really liked it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 29, 2014

      I would like to read her first book too because the whole concept of home cooking and family appeals to me. Have you read her blog?

      Like

  4. Priya
    July 29, 2014

    You had me at pizza! I am not much of a cook, but this sounds like a cozy read, I’ll add it to my to-read list. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 30, 2014

      I wish I cooked more and have grand fantasies of learning how to be a really good cook … maybe I’ll try when my kids are older. Delancey is a nice, cozy read. I look forward to hearing what you think.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

