ebookclassics

Character Study – Orange Is The New Black Edition

I’m a few episodes away from finishing Season 2 of Orange Is The New Black. Although not as compelling in plot as Season 1, I’m happy that there are still plenty of OMG moments and laughs. OITNB has an amazing, diverse cast and I really appreciate that the show features so many strong female characters.

Here’s a few book characters some of our favourite inmates have played over the years:

piper

TAYLOR SCHILLING
As OITNB’s central heroine Piper, Taylor Schilling has been “teased, stalked, threatened and called Taylor Swift”, but she has also played a good luck charm. In the adaptation of Nicholas Sparks’ The Lucky One (2012), Taylor stars as Beth Green, the young woman in the photo a U.S. Marine carries around while he serves in Iraq.

* * *

alex

LAURA PREPON
Best known for her role as Donna on That 70s Show, Laura Prepon (Alex Vause on OITNB) starred in the sitcom Are You There, Chelsea? (2012) based on comedian/talk show host, Chelsea Handler’s book (and the funnier title in my opinion) Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea. I watched this show and thought it had potential, but it was cancelled.

* * *

red

KATE MULGREW
Kate Mulgrew, who played my second favourite Star Trek Captain, is now the tough and cunning, Red Reznikov on OITNB. In 1981, Kate played the doomed Isolt in Lovespell based on the Arthurian legend of Tristan and Isolt. I find her Russian accent on OITNG a little over the top, but I still like her character.

* * *

jason

JASON BIGGS
Piper’s sensitive and sweet ex-fiancĂ© Larry Bloom is played by Jason Biggs on OITNB. Jason starred in Guy X (2005) based on the novel No One Thinks Of Greenland by John Grisemer and won a Best Actor award for his portrayal of Corporal Rudy Spruance at the Taormina Film Festival.

Are you watching OITNB? Have you read the book by Piper Kerman?

8 comments on “Character Study – Orange Is The New Black Edition

  1. janceewright
    July 29, 2014

    I read the book and loved it. I’ve only seen a couple episodes of the show, but it’s so different, I don’t know if I can handle it. Usually, I’m pretty good at separating books from their movie/tv counterparts, but I don’t know if I can do it this time.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 30, 2014

      I felt the same way about the show when I first watched it because it was so in-your-face with the sex and other issues, but I guess I got used to its style. I haven’t read the book yet.

      Like

  2. Ngan R.
    July 30, 2014

    I read the book and didn’t like it too much. I found it disingenuous and self-promoting; Kerman talks a lot about how the system is broken but doesn’t take responsibility for her role as a drug mule. That really irked me. However, I like the show. The show is quite different from the book and I enjoyed season 1. Haven’t started season 2, but will soon!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 30, 2014

      Hmm, that’s very interesting to hear about the book. I have heard similar criticism towards the author. I hope you enjoy Season 2 when you get to start watching it.

      Like

  3. Naomi
    July 30, 2014

    I haven’t watched it yet. I have to limit myself to one show at a time, so it doesn’t suck up all my time. I did read the book, and liked it, but didn’t love it. I hear the TV series is very different anyway. What is your opinion on the book versus the series?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 30, 2014

      Ugh, I know I probably watch way too much TV. I haven’t read the book yet and the deeper I get into the show, the more I think I should get right on it. I’m very curious to compare them.

      Like

  4. lauratfrey
    July 30, 2014

    The book is well-written, but BORING. All the crazy stuff in the show is either wildly exaggerated or straight up didn’t happen. I wonder what my perception would have been had I read the book first (as god intended.)

    The book was very “white girl learns life lessons from brown people” if you know what I mean.

    I found the real-life Larry’s article about his experience more interesting than the book!

    Like

  5. ebookclassics
    July 30, 2014

    Wow, I’m going to look for the article by real-life Larry. The show is really over the top, but I think that’s one of things that attracts me to it. Now that I’m so deep into the show, I think I need to read the book to compare.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

