ebookclassics

Blogger Diaries #5

blogger5

I probably don’t need to sign-up for any additional reading events since I joined Austen In August, AND Summer of the Canadian Short Story, but here I go again!

WAR AND PEACE READ-ALONG
The War and Peace read-along hosted by Rincey Reads and Adultish Books on YouTube during the month of August will be my first foray into the world of booktubers. I will only follow the discussion and not the reading schedule since I’ve decided to read Tolstoy’s epic slowly without any deadlines (and there’s no way I’ll finish it in a month anyway).

PRIDE AND PREJUDICE READ-ALONG
The Pride and Prejudice read-along hosted by Wensend and The Book Musings is the perfect complement to Lost Generation Reader’s Austen In August event. I will probably also watch the BBC’S Pride and Prejudice from 1995 with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. I know you’ll gasp, but I’ve never watched the series in its entirety before!

BEAT THE HEAT READATHON
The Beat the Heat Readathon hosted by Phantasmic Reads and Novel Heartbeat runs from August 11th to September 1st which is perfect because I’m on vacation the week of the 11th. So that’s one week of hardcore reading, followed by any catch-up the following two weeks. There will be mini-challenges and a grand prize giveaway, so it should be fun!

Books I aim to read are:
War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy (let’s see where I get)
Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
Life After God by Douglas Coupland
Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proulx
The Testament of Mary by Colm Tรณibรญn
…. whatever else drops into my lap.

I purposely picked a few super short books to help me keep things moving along.

REMAINS OF THE DAY READ-ALONG
I just heard about this Random House Canada read-along for The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro and think I might sign up (because I’m out of control)!

IN OTHER NEWS …
I’m still reading The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis.

Are you joining any of these events? What are your reading plans for August?

20 comments on “Blogger Diaries #5

  1. lauratfrey
    August 1, 2014

    Damn girl! You are out of control!

    I am not signing up for anything, though I was tempted by W&P, because I want to focus on review books that come out in September. I have four, so making sure those get read and reviewed is a priority, and as you know I’m still reading Outlander and can’t totally neglect classics, so… yeah.

    I did read a really great short story the other day that I may write up for Summer of the Canadian Short Story, we shall see!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 1, 2014

      Oh, I hope you do a write-up. Who is the author? I think staying focused on the books and reviews you want to make a priority is a smart strategy. I’m probably taking way too much on, but I guess that’s how I roll.

      How are things going with Outlander? Still eye-rolling? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        August 1, 2014

        It was in a student magazine from U of A so no one you’ve heard of, I’m guessing ๐Ÿ™‚

        Outlander is like a nice comfort read. Eye rolling yes, but good-natured.

        Like

  2. sodiamondwords
    August 1, 2014

    Wow that all sounds really ambitious! Good for you!

    Like

  3. lostgenerationreader
    August 1, 2014

    Remains of the Day read-along!?!?! I might need to do this as well. Thanks for linking up Austen in August! Glad to have you joining. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 1, 2014

      So excited to starting P&P this weekend. If you sign-up for remains of the day, we can compare notes. Have you read the book before or seen the movie?

      Like

      • lostgenerationreader
        August 1, 2014

        I’ve read the book once, but I haven’t seen the movie. I think I need a re-read. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  4. Ngan R.
    August 1, 2014

    What fun! Thanks for linking up to the Austen read along. I might join since it’s been some time since I’ve read P&P.

    Like

  5. janceewright
    August 1, 2014

    I am in the middle of the East of Eden read-along hosted by The Estella Society. I am also doing Austen in August and the Isla is Coming read-along.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 1, 2014

      What books are you reading for Austen In August? Ooh, I haven’t heard of the Isla is Coming read-along, but I probably shouldn’t sign up for more stuff, LOL!

      Like

      • janceewright
        August 1, 2014

        I am reading Emma and Sense & Sensibility. I haven’t read either, so time to educate myself. The Isla is Coming read-along started yesterday technically and lasts 3 weeks, 1 for each of the books in the series. It’s pretty exciting!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          August 1, 2014

          I’ve read both Emma and S&S and enjoyed them. I think I liked S&S more and I’m big fan of the movie from 1995 with Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet, although the BBC series is pretty good too.

          Like

  6. Cedar Station
    August 1, 2014

    Holy smokes, good luck with all these! Sounds like you’ve got a busy month ahead of you. How are you liking The Best Laid Plans?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 1, 2014

      Thanks! TBLP is good so far and as a comedy, it’s probably the only way I could ever really read about politics. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. Cleo @ Classical Carousel
    August 1, 2014

    Wow! You are certainly queen of searching out read-alongs. I now know who to go to when I’m looking for something fun! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 5, 2014

      Thanks, but I actually think your blog was the first I heard about the Beat the Heat read-athon. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. DoingDewey
    August 3, 2014

    There are just way too many great events this month! I’m hoping to catch up on an East of Eden read-along, but I think it might be hopeless at this point. If I hadn’t already overbooked myself, I’d definitely join the War and Peace read-along. I loved Anna Karenina, so I’d like to get to more books by Tolstoy.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 5, 2014

      Yay! W&P has been a good read so far and I even enjoy all of the chapters with the military battles. But I wonder how I will feel when the story keeps going and going and going …

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

